Ham and Fresh Basil Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
These are delicious and were a HUGE hit! I followed some of the other reviews and used a Sun Dried Tomato Pesto (from this sight) instead of the sun dried tomatoes, I was worried they would be too chewy/hard. Since I used the pesto, I reduced the fresh basil leaves to 1/2; 2 ounces went in the pest and 2 ounces were sliced and laid on the ham. This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOBUCKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was a huge hit with my guests. I used herb cream cheese and not nearly so much basil. I chopped both the basil and sun-dried tomatoes (after soaking the latter in water for a few minutes, because they were really hard), then sprinkled them over the cream cheese before adding ham and lettuce. I served them with a raspberry-mustard dipping sauce as someone else had suggested (I mixed Dijon mustard and raspberry jam to taste) and it was a great combination. Oh, I also cut mine into five pieces so they were smaller. Will definitely make again - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I have made these for parties...there are never any leftovers...a nice light appetizer. I LOVE BASIL!!! it makes this recipe! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I am giving it a 4 after having made one roll as written. It was quite good! Then I decided it needed a few things changed. I added just enough concentrated garlic into the cream cheese to give it a good, subtle flavor. I also added in provolone cheese and sliced turkey along with the ham (I used Black Forest). I wasn't shy with the basil, and they turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINCHRISSY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
these are very good but there's no way I could use 4 oz of basil...that's a LOT! I use several leaves in each roll and I don't use nearly that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
A very useful recipe for snacks and potlucks. I added a few tablespoons of ranch dressing to the cream cheese to make it a bit more spreadable, and add a bit more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Pretty good...got lots of compliments when I made this for my kids bday....the adults really loved it, definitely add the red leaf lettuce..the crunch makes it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
The only changes that I made to this recipe were to blend the cream cheese, basil, and sundried tomatoes together as others suggested, and use some leftover honey baked ham. These were really flavorful and held up well overnight. I used one good sized-bunch of fresh basil and added the whole thing to the spread ( I tasted along the way and found no issue with a strong taste of basil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkochevar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I was a little leery whether it would taste right considering I used turkey bacon instead of ham... but it turned out tasty! I drizzled a little olive oil to combine with the basil. Loved the touch of fresh basil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States