Ham and Fresh Basil Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This recipe was okay. I think I spread the layer of cream cheese too thin. At any rate, my guests seemed to like it pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
These tasted great. I also cut up the sun-dried tomatoes and the basil and used a bit more cream cheese. Everyone thought they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This recipe is great. I served them at a bridal shower and everyone was so impressed. A little pricey, but absolutely worth every penny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
I made these with deli smoked turkey. One thing to do is NOT substitute the fresh basil with dried. They are two TOTALLY different tastes. I chopped the basil and sprinkled that over instead of using whole leaves. You have to go by "looks" rather than a specific weight/amount. Also, I cut the sundried tomatoes into smaller pieces. This recipe was very good. You could do alot of different things to vary it and it would come out good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
This were pretty good but my finished product didn't really resemble the original recipe at all. I used deli-sliced turkey, cheddar cheese and dried basil. I spread the tortillas with the cream cheese and sprinkled about 1/8 tsp. of dried basil over the tortilla, layered the turkey, then cheese, then lettuce and topped with the sun-dried tomatoes. I thought the tomatoes added some nice flavor. We made these the night before for a bridal shower, covered and sliced them right before the party. They looked good, kept their shape well and got better with time. I had one left that I took for lunch 2 days later and it was still great! This recipe works well with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
This is a great recipe to whip up the night before. I used roast beef and turkey. It's also great with regular tomatoes or roasted red peppers. The basil makes it delicious! This is a great summertime lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
This was great kind of messy cause i used fresh tomatoes but everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
Easy appetizer. I used a sun-dried tomato salsa which really gave it a pizza flavor. Also I only used 2or 3 basil leaves per roll-up. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
One of the easiest, tastiest recipes for a snack or appetizer, especially in summer, when you've got lots of basil! A big hit at my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
I have an abundance of fresh basil and have been looking for recipes in which it can be used. Since I didn't have a kitchen scale, I had difficulty measuring 4 ounces of fresh basil. I think I used too much because it was overpowering and oftentimes downright bitter. Also, aside from the strong basil flavor, I thought the pinwheels were "missing something". My father is the only person in our family who liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States