Ham and Fresh Basil Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
INSTEAD OF FRESH BASIL AND THE WHOLE SUNDRIED TOMATOES, I USED SUNDRIED TOMATO PESTO. IT ADDED GREAT FLAVOR, AND I ALSO USED EXTRA CREAM CHEESE AND A FEW SLICES OF MEAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This recipe is great. I served them at a bridal shower and everyone was so impressed. A little pricey, but absolutely worth every penny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
These were wonderful. They were easy to make. 1 package of tortillas is plenty. I followed instructions exactly & the taste was amazing. The combination of the fresh basil & the sundried tomatoes really made this a hit. I made these 1 day ahead of time, covered them well with saran wrap & they held up nicely. Will definately do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
I took heed to other reviews that said the basil was too strong, but I didn’t know how strong…so the first time I made this, I used 2-3 oz. of basil, but that was still too powerful. (In retrospect, I should have gradually added the basil to taste). The second time I made these, I used just one ¾ oz. package of fresh basil, which seemed perfect. All my family members liked it (hubby, parents, and siblings). With this amount, you can taste the basil, but it’s a good mix, not too overpowering, and the amount of cream cheese was adequate. Good taste! I did follow one person’s suggestion of putting the basil, sun-dried tomatoes, and cream cheese in a food processor --- this worked out nicely. *A note about the tortillas: I noticed that the La Mexicana brand tortillas were a little firmer than the Azteca brand. The Azteca brand seemed to crack/split more easily when rolling since they’re softer, but they still ended up rolling nicely. It helps if you take the rolls out of the refrigerator maybe an hour before serving to allow the tortillas & cream cheese to soften a bit so the pinwheels aren’t too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
this recipe was a big hit!i used 1 0z less fresh basil,put the creamcheese,tomatoe,basil in my food processer,mixed nicely,cut back some time on preparing.i was glad i cut back on fresh basil,you could really taste it as it was.will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
These tasted great. I also cut up the sun-dried tomatoes and the basil and used a bit more cream cheese. Everyone thought they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MICHSHU
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I thought this was great. Everyone loved it and it was light and yummy. I used Tomatoes in oil and that seemed to give it some moisture to keep it together. I also used a little more cream cheese at the end of the roll up to use as glue. P.S. I sent in the picture that was used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
I made these with deli smoked turkey. One thing to do is NOT substitute the fresh basil with dried. They are two TOTALLY different tastes. I chopped the basil and sprinkled that over instead of using whole leaves. You have to go by "looks" rather than a specific weight/amount. Also, I cut the sundried tomatoes into smaller pieces. This recipe was very good. You could do alot of different things to vary it and it would come out good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
I was looking for a low carb appetizer, so I skipped the tortillas and just rolled the filling into the ham slices. I did cut back on the sundried tomatoes a bit, as I often find them too salty. Everyone enjoyed these, especially when I pulled out the raspberry wasabi mustard for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
This were pretty good but my finished product didn't really resemble the original recipe at all. I used deli-sliced turkey, cheddar cheese and dried basil. I spread the tortillas with the cream cheese and sprinkled about 1/8 tsp. of dried basil over the tortilla, layered the turkey, then cheese, then lettuce and topped with the sun-dried tomatoes. I thought the tomatoes added some nice flavor. We made these the night before for a bridal shower, covered and sliced them right before the party. They looked good, kept their shape well and got better with time. I had one left that I took for lunch 2 days later and it was still great! This recipe works well with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States