Ham and Creamy Potato Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
We have made this several times & it's delish. We have used both mayo & sour cream...both are good. And we've made it with and without the ham. I personally prefer it without! We definitely pre-cook the potatoes. It guarantees the potatoes get cooked thru & baking is just really reheating & getting everything to the same temp & all melty & gooey. And if you pre-boil them, the skin comes off super easy...no peeling. I'm making it with 8 small-medium size potatoes tonight. yummmmmmmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
thanks Mabel. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenduffy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This recipe was DELICIOUS I did not make any changes . Not only did hubby love it but the picky grandchildren had 2nds!!!!Thanks for such a simple delicious recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenniferdear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Yum! I didn't precook the potatoes. Baked at 350 for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was a great main dish to make for my family. I liked the creaminess of the sauce, and the addition of the celery and onion which isn't what I'd normally put in my scalloped potatoes. The guys loved this. I might add cheddar cheese next time as we like a real strong cheesy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dexter, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is a wonderful comfort food casserole. I made it with a 3 pound bag of frozen hashbrowns and a 1 pound canned ham. It was the perfect amount of food (with veggie sides) to feed 3 adults and 2 very hungry kids with some for my lunch the next day. I did add some dehydrated red and green peppers for color and taste. Easy to keep all ingredients on hand for a throw together supper. Win-Win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I finely diced the potatoes and only had 4 lbs, they still did not fit in a 2 1/2 quart dish. So I had to grease another and after all was said and done the prep took more than twice as long as I anticipated. This is definitely a make ahead dish. I also added more cheese, the sauce didn't seem like it was enough. Baked it for an hour and a half at 300, and only the potatoes in the glass dish were cooked. The ones in the ceramic casserole were not. Next time I try this, because it is yummy, I will do all the same except put it in a glass 9x13 covered at 325 for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
We did not precook the potatoes...what we ended up doing was just cooking the potatoes for an extra 20-30 minutes in the oven...we also used a mandolin to make sure the potatoes all were sliced the same size so they would cook evenly...we were thinking next time adding a bit more cheese to make it more cheesy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dumbee cooks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was very good, I followed other users and didn't precook the potatoes. Mine were crunchy, even after an additional 30min and then microwaved the next day for lunch. Will def precook next time! However, the flavors were wonderful, added just a bit of salt and it was spectacular. I'll be honest though, I did double the cheese, well, because everything could use more cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe to a T and it did not turn out very good... not very creamy... not very flavorful... I'll stick with Betty Crocker in a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States