Ham and Corn Bake - Easy and Yummy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This recipe was good but I did make some changes after reading reviews. First of all I soaked my ham in cold water for an hour after dicing to leach out some of the salt. I used garlic powder instead of salt. I also used low sodium canned corn and only used 2 eggs. I used cream of mushroom soup as I could not find cream of asparagus, but I did add a can of chopped asparagus to it well drained. Instead of the bread crumbs I used left over corn bread that I had crumbled and mixed with 3 strips of crispy bacon chopped well, this turned out wonderfully. The salt content was not a problem and it was very flavorful. anytime you are dealing with a salt cured meat such as ham there are ways to reduce the salt content you just have to do the extra step and soak it! I will definitely make this again my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dillon, Montana, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
one of the worst things i've ever cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
very delicious way to use up left over Christmas ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UnkWillow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This recipe is very good and easy to make. It was gone in one sitting! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Great way to use left over ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Way to salty!!!!!!!!! Cut way back on the salt and this would be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenrecycle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I'm glad I read the reviews ... I added sauteed garlic and whipping cream to help counter-balance the saltiness. I also added a tablespoon of sweet honey mustard. Plus a handful of frozen peas for color. Creamy goodness !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Very good. However, I would use garlic powder instead of garlic salt next time. Quite salty. I couldn't find Cream of Asparagus soup, so I used Cream of celery. (I left out the diced celery.) Also, I added egg noodles to it. It seemed as if it needed something more. I doubled the recipe, but didn't double the eggs; I'm glad I didn't because 3 eggs was perfect. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
We liked it. Kids, too. I'm glad I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. There's enough salt from the other ingredients. I couldn't find Crm. of asparagus, so I substituted Crm of Broccoli. It worked fine. Next time I'll try some other mix of bread crumbs. This time was Italian, and it was good, but I'd like to see what another will do to the dish. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
i took a few suggestions from the other reviews and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. they were right, it's salty enough. and i used 2 eggs instead of 3. it turned out good. not a meal i would serve to guests, but a great weeknight dinner with ham leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis Junction, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Easy Quiche

A delicious, quick-and-easy quiche with broccoli, ham, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States