Ham and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I loved it. I didn't have enough cheese to top it, so I chopped up some process cheese slices (I know it's not real cheese), stirred them into the mix. I also shredded my chicken since my husband isn't a big fan. I took others advice and did a dash of paprika instead. Since I have some small salad tomatoes going soon, I tossed them in my dinner bowl before I filled it with the casserole. While waiting for it to cool down enough to eat, it cooked the tomatoes. Next time, MORE TOMATOES. Yummy. Also, I saute'd the onions, celery and 1/4 cup chopped red bell peppers in butter before making the sauce to ensure easy chewing for my denture wearing family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mattie Hyde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This is soooo good! My 10 yr old calls it a keeper. It's a simple dish, but it tastes amazing! It will be in our rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaniaRigs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Bumped up the serving size to 4 which fit nicely in an 8X8 pan. This fed 2 adults & 1 child with a small amount of leftovers. I doubled the noodles (2 cups). For the chicken I used meat from a whole chicken. Instead of regular salt I used garlic salt & I didn't use paprika. Overall my family & I enjoyed this casserole. I think it could be a great 'clean out the fridge' casserole. By using different meats (ex. pork chops, beef roast, etc.) and different veggies (ex. green peppers, green beans, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
My son liked it alot. I left out ck and only used ham. Added mozz. chz and would like to use a mex. blend chz as well next time. Left out celery and maybe add onions next time. also used macaroni noodles and still turned out fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Thanks for sharing. I was looking for a way to use leftover ham, and this was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This was pretty good! I served it to dinner guests and they had seconds, which is pretty good in my book :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gurley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lodgepole, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I ended up changing this a little due to what I had on hand and per other reviews.I used leftover rotisserie chicken I had along with leftover ham from the holidays, added about a cup of shredded monterey jack to the sauce while it was cooking, and cooked the onion and celery in some butter along w/the ham and chicken (to warm the meats) and used ziti noodles. I ended up using a mexican blend of cheeses on top. Everyone liked it - a glorified mac and cheese recipe that reminds us of the mac and cheese with ham that a nearby restaurant serves but they use gourmet cheeses. So perhaps next time I'll liven it up a bit with asiago and romano cheeses. Mmmmm.... Update: Made it again tonight and tripled the recipe (as I did before but forgot to say) and the noodle proportion (using penne noodles this time) is NOT accurate, even when tripling. I doubled the noodles and there wasn't much left in the box so you need to use a full box (13 oz or thereabouts). This time I put an italian 5 cheese blend in the sauce along with some extra romano for flavor and then am using colby jack on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Def triple it as others have stated; saute onion with the celery, add salt, pepper, garlic; add plenty of cheese to the white sauce instead of on top; then top with crushed ritz or corn flakes...great with ham only...toss in carrots, peas whatever you're in the mood for. Really yummy post-holiday grub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This recipe should be considered as a good idea for a casserole & needs a lot of tweaking to be flavorful. Quadruple the portion, saute onion, garlic and celery in butter to start the sauce, add more cheese. Use your imagination, but the recipe as is is very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
We had this last night. My hubby and I both agreed that it tasted like Mac & Cheese with ham added. Not to say that's a bad thing, but I was looking for something with more of a "Wow" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States