Ham and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Prep time may be 10 minutes if you have everything chopped already, otherwise it took me more like 40 minutes as I was chopping celery and other vegetables I wanted to add in there (onions, carrots and a bit of leftover broccoli). I sauted chicken breast cubes with the vegetables before adding in with the noodles. The sauce didn't thicken after 20 minutes to a consistency that made me feel confident it was going to turn out right so I added a bit of cornstarch. Everyone liked it and had seconds. I'll do it again the same way next time but I will allow more time for prep! With all the vegies, it made a nice meal. I just had one side vegetable dish. BTW, I more than tripled the recipe (added an extra cup of noodles on top of that) to make for 6 adults and it came out with just a little leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This was an excellent dish we all ate it and enjoyed it!! Great for a quick leftover meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Good way to use up leftover vegetables and meat. Since it was my first time to make this though, I followed the recipe with ham and chicken. I did add some carrots and onions and stirfried them with the chicken and celery before putting it in the casserole dish with the noodles. Tripled the serving size (recipe for 12) just to serve 5 hungry adults. It was barely enough. Also added a couple teaspoons of cornstarch to thicken up the sauce. I will do that again next time as well since it came out perfect that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This was a great hit with my family. I did triple the recipe and their was just enough left over for my husband to have for breakfast. I did add onions and I cook them with the celery till tender before adding them to the sauce mixture. Will be a recipe to make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I, like other reviewers, thought that this served only 2 portions (if even that). The only modification I made was using celery seed instead of chopped celery (I didn't have any). My two girls loved this (I can't eat it because of my diet), but I tried a small bite and found it very tasty. This recipe is good as is, or would be a great base to add other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I used cream of mushroom soup and milk instead of making the white sauce and I put some of the cheese in it as well as on top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I tripled the recipie. I think the amout of paprika was too much. Kids ate healthy portions (must have been good). Next time I make it I'll use 20% more noodles and 20% less sauce (butter, flour, milk). Also might try adding corn and onion to this good "base" recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This casserole was very good. My husband and daughter ate seconds. It was the perfect size for our small family with no leftovers. Reminded me of chicken noodle soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Good casserole. Thanks to the other reviewers who repeatedly stated that this only serves 2, I doubled it. But even then, it barely fed all of us. Next time, I will have to triple the recipe. Also, I added 2 TBLS diced onions and sauted them in a TBLS butter with the celery so that they are cooked through and when I triple the recipe, I'm going to add more noodles. We like creamy but not "saucy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
recipe as is does not make 4 servings. i doubled it and added cheese to the white sauce and still probably could have used a little more sauce to go with the noodles and meats. very tasty with the extra cheese. good base recipe, easy to modify into other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States