Ham and Cheesy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was excellent! Everyone in my family liked it! I added some leftover corn to the mix- yummy! It did take a long time to cook though, I did a double size and it took almost 2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Amazing, my husband this is the best meal I have had in a while... he is not one to impulsivity flatter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
The only thing missing was some kind of oil or butter to make the cream sauce with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I think it doesn't need the lemon pepper. Next time I'll put it in a smaller pan so I can put another layer on. It was only about an inch thick. When I first made the sauce, I thought it would never thicken then after I put in the cheese it thickened up too much so it kinda sat on top of the potatoes. I only cooked it for 45 minutes and the edges of the sauce started to burn. It was edible and not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I just made this for lunch for my family and they loved it. I didn't have any issues with toasting the flour, using an electric range and using 4-qt saute pan. I did halve the recipe though and used one chicken bouillon cube. Also added some organic carrots too. Yummy and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This really came out good with a few changes. I really didn't get the dry toasting of the flour, so cooked a finely chopped onion in 1T butter until softened, then added a minced clove of garlic and the flour and cooked until the flour was a light gold, then added the rest of the seasonings and milk. Pureed the sauce in the food processor (presto! no lumps!) with one bouillon cube (there was no way in the world I was going to use 3), then returned to the pan to cook until thickened. Melted in colby/jack cheese and poured over the layered ham (about 2 cups) and julienned potatos. Baked up with crispy edges and tasted wonderful. Only slight negative I can say is the potatos turned a little gray since there wasn't enough sauce to fully cover, which didn't affect the flavor, but doesn't look as pretty. Next time I would double the sauce to make the cassarole a little 'juicier'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
sharp cheddar is the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
YUM this was so good!! I intended to follow the recipe very closely but I accidentally added 1tsp oregano (had it out to refill my container) and I also added a bag of frozen broccoli. That's the only changes I made. The potatoes did take much longer to cook for me even though I sliced them very thin before cutting them julienne and I covered the pan with foil but I still had to leave this in the oven for 30 more minutes. Even though I'm not a fan of velveeta I had some to use up, and with that I also used 1c shredded sharp cheddar. That along with the seasoning was just so tasty - we'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This wasn't bad- I thought it lacked flavor, I would add sauteed onion and garlic to it next time. I shredded my potatoes with a Salad Shooter because I was too lazy to julienne them. My kids liked it, so that's a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was ok, I would rate it 4 stars if it wasn't so salty. I would have to modify this recipe some if I decided to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States