Ham and Cheesy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
The lemon pepper ruined the whole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Way too salty...I couldn't choke it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I followed this recipe very loosely but we loved it. I used 4 T. butter, melted and made a roux with the flour. Poured in 1 3/4 C. milk and let thicken. Mixed the other 1/4 C. milk (COLD) with the cornstarch and poured into the heated milk mixture to hold the roux better. I also added 1 T. dry mustard powder, subbed 1 T. chicken broth powder for the boullin (way less salty!) and added about 1 tsp. white pepper. I filled my 9x13 dish with finely sliced potatoes and onions. Then diced up 2 ham steaks. I melted in about 1.5 C. shredded sharp cheddar and then poured the cheese sauce over the ham/potatoes/onions. Baked at 350 for 1 hour. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was excellent! Everyone in my family liked it! I added some leftover corn to the mix- yummy! It did take a long time to cook though, I did a double size and it took almost 2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Amazing, my husband this is the best meal I have had in a while... he is not one to impulsivity flatter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
The only thing missing was some kind of oil or butter to make the cream sauce with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I think it doesn't need the lemon pepper. Next time I'll put it in a smaller pan so I can put another layer on. It was only about an inch thick. When I first made the sauce, I thought it would never thicken then after I put in the cheese it thickened up too much so it kinda sat on top of the potatoes. I only cooked it for 45 minutes and the edges of the sauce started to burn. It was edible and not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Moser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I just made this for lunch for my family and they loved it. I didn't have any issues with toasting the flour, using an electric range and using 4-qt saute pan. I did halve the recipe though and used one chicken bouillon cube. Also added some organic carrots too. Yummy and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This really came out good with a few changes. I really didn't get the dry toasting of the flour, so cooked a finely chopped onion in 1T butter until softened, then added a minced clove of garlic and the flour and cooked until the flour was a light gold, then added the rest of the seasonings and milk. Pureed the sauce in the food processor (presto! no lumps!) with one bouillon cube (there was no way in the world I was going to use 3), then returned to the pan to cook until thickened. Melted in colby/jack cheese and poured over the layered ham (about 2 cups) and julienned potatos. Baked up with crispy edges and tasted wonderful. Only slight negative I can say is the potatos turned a little gray since there wasn't enough sauce to fully cover, which didn't affect the flavor, but doesn't look as pretty. Next time I would double the sauce to make the cassarole a little 'juicier'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
sharp cheddar is the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States