Ham and Cheese Picnic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I make this with roasted red peppers, ham, turkey, and cheese for the filling. It turns out great and makes a very nice presentation! I also made a "cinnamon roll" version with brown sugar, nuts, butter, etc for the filling. This is a definite keeper recipe that I will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Instead of making it into 1 big loaf, I shaped them into mini buns, and filled them with different fillings like tomate paste and mozzarella, hot dogs, etc. Really easy to make. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This is a fantastic recipe! I will definitely have fun playing with the fillings. I want to try it with precooked meatballs and a little red sauce; or salami, provolone and muffuletta olive salad! The possiblities are endless. I followed other reviewers' advice and added Italian seasoning to the dough (and a little garlic powder)then brushed the top with butter and a little parmesan cheese. Mmmmm!! It smelled so good baking, and was beautiful! It was the perfect thing for a picnic but I had to cut it in half to fit it in my basket!lol Thanks Holly for a great recipe. I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
GREAT recipe! I put one tbs. italian seasoning in the dough and used just ham and mozzarella for the filling. I also added fresh ground pepper to the filling. For the top, I brushed with melted butter and sprinkled a combo of parmasean cheese, italian seasoning and kosher salt. It made the house smell wonderful, and the herbs made the bread so rich! The braid and toppings made this look like true artisan bread! I've also made this with chopped kalamata olives and parmasean cheese added to the dough. REALLY good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Being an accomplished baker, I appreciate the ease in making this bread. It has a defined rib and I appreciate you sharing it. I used Bread Flour and 2 teaspoons of baking powder to give the bread a proper swell. I also chose to stuff it with Colby, Jalapeno slices, and honey ham. Just before moving it into the brick oven, I placed grated cheddar on top of each side of the braid and melted 1 tablespoon of butter; brushing it onto the rib and braid. What resulted was a beautiful carmalization of the dough. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TasteKing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Summit, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
took this dish to two different parties and was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This was a hit at our picnic today. Next time I will try to roll the dough thinner and use more filling. I used ham, mozzarella, chopped sun-dried tomatoes and roasted garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I really loved this bread fortunately so did my family or I might have eaten the whole loaf. Didn't use pimentos or olives I used sun dried tomatoes instead. Will be making this often. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
very good, and easy to carry! My husband and I often meet for lunch in a park near his office. This stays warm on the way over and is delicious with a tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
The loaf shaping is easy: mound the filling in the middle third of the dough, then make cuts from the filling to the edges of the doug, making 3/4 inch wide strips. Alternating sides, fold the strips at an angle across the filling. The top of the loaf will look like a braid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States