Ham and Cheese Picnic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Left out the peppers and olives for a more kid-friendly version. Kids LOVED it! I may have to double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Very yummy! I will be trying other fillings as options as well. All you have to do is take it to the party and slice it! I am not a big olive fan so I only put them on half of the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Love this. Easy to make. I use pepperoni instead. I am thinking the next one will be with mushrooms too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I made it last night and it came out very good, in spite of all the mistakes I made. My yeast was expired(I only noticed afterwards) and I forgot to put butter, when making the dough!!!! The lack of butter made it kind of dry after a couple of hours, but it was delicious when it came out of the oven. I brushed with egg yolk before baking and followed some other reviewers advices. Thanks everybody for your input. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchenfairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is a great picnic snack! I used a pre-made flaky dough that I bought from the grocery store and it was perfect. Because it was round, it made it more difficult to wrap the filling. If you can, reshape it to have square edges but don't feel you have to. Mine still looked and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Very tasty!!! My only change would be a bit of garlic or garlic powder to your liking and to roll the dough out a bit thinner - perhaps an inch wider on length and width. The bread/filling ratio was more in the favor of bread for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
this is my first time reviewing a recipe here and it definitely gets 5 stars! Don't let the idea of bread-from-scratch scare you; this recipe is straight forward and comes out beautifully. My children didn't believe that *I* made this, and my husband had 2 huge helpings. The dough itself is so versatile that I'm going to use it as my base recipe. The concept is brilliant and the stuffing can be any combo of things you want (from a calzone to a danish filling). Thanks so much for this recipe, and my family thanks you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this for our family picnic and it was a huge hit. After baking, I wrapped it in foil and it stayed warm for the whole trip to the park. Next time I will try it with pepperoni, mozzarella and pizza sauce...per my teenager's great idea and request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Easy and fun to make, just a bit time-consuming due to the time needed for dough rising. I plan to make it again with some different fillings (bacon, sautéed onions, cheddar cheese, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Thought this was fantastic. I made it using my KitchenAid mixer, and it turned out great and I used less dishes. I agree with another reviewer and found that the total prep time and cook time was closer to 3 - 3 1/2 hours. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States