Ham and Cheese Omelet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I am always on the hunt for breakfast meals that can be easily frozen into individual portions, and reheated at work, and decided to give this a try. I enjoyed it, however, it didn't remind me of the traditional stuffed omelet. So I think next time what I'll do is add half the eggs to the bottom of the pan and bake for a few minutes to solidify the egg. Then add the "fillings" and bake a bit more, to melt the cheese around the loose ingredients, therefor creating a second layer. Then add the rest of the eggs and finish the cooking as normal. That way I can have mini, square, stuffed omelets to take with me! I ended up using 6 whole eggs and 4 egg whites, and used a 9x13-inch pan (and was able to get 8 good sized squares). 2 cups of ham is a little bit too much for my taste...I will probably only use 1 cup next time, and add other ingredients to make it a western omelet. Also, I used fat free cheddar, and upped the amount to about 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Very easy recipe, and it suited us just fine for tonight. Next time, I will flavor it up with enhancements suggested by earlier reviewers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
This is an excellent casserole.I've already made it twice this week!I added some chopped green pepper,onion,and mushrooms and 2 cups of cheese w/ a little basil for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLEGHOST

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
My husband and the kids loved this! I made this for them one night before I went out and when I returned it was gone! They love omelets so this is perfect for them. Will be a keeper. I see them asking for this dish alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Simple, easy to make, but a bit bland. Second time around I added mushrooms and doubled the cheese (sharp cheddar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I really like this it is fast to whip up and a great meal. I change it up some with adding different veggies to this. I really like it. It is fast to make however, it does take time in the oven to bake. Greeat for an anytime meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
My family LOVED this recipe! We will use it again and again, for breakfast or dinner, it works great for both. We are also adding more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I made this for dinner last night, and my boyfriend and I loved it. However, unless you like things pretty bland, I would consider this a base recipe to be added to. I used sharp cheddar cheese and added some scallions. Next time I make it, I think I will add a little Pepper Jack cheese, some bell pepper and onion, and maybe even some diced tomatoes or salsa. I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This was pretty easy and tasty! I scaled it to 2 servings, so I reduced the baking time to about 40 minutes, which worked out well. Based on previous reviews, I increased the amount of cheese (and I used sharp cheddar because I couldn't find shredded American at the supermarket!). I did find it a bit too salty, but that might have been because of the particular ham I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This was very good. I made it tonight because I needed to use up some leftover ham, and I had overbought on eggs this week - so it worked out well. I made it with 10 eggs and baked it in a 9x13 pan. It took about 45 minutes to bake. The whole family liked it! I'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States