Ham and Cheese Breakfast Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
good, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairborn, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is an easy and delicious breakfast/brunch main course. I used 1 20 oz bag of hash browns from the refrig section of the grocery store, and used 1/4 C melted butter and also sprayed the potatos with my olive oil spray (just to cut down on the butter). You can obviously substitute any meat/cheese you like - I used canadian bacon and sharp cheddar cheese and fresh snipped chives. You may want to add some additional spices to the egg/milk mixture, whatever you like in your eggs. I will definitely put this on my B&B breakfast rotation, my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is a great base recipe on its own, but very adaptable to varied tastes and dietary restrictions. My version: I used Simply Potatoes shredded hash browns, no "squeezing" required. I mixed the potatoes with some melted butter, but also one egg to help hold it all together well. I also added some salt, pepper, and a bit of onion powder to them for some additional flavor. I baked the potato crust as directed. For my filling, I used some Boar's Head Rosemary and Sundried tomato ham - I have the deli just give me one thick, 1/4 to 1/3 inch slice that I diced up. I sauteed onions, green pepper, and garlic, and mixed the ham in to sautee for a couple of minutes. Separately I mixed the eggs and heavy cream. I also added in some chopped fresh parsley and rosemary, and a bit of salt and pepper. Finally, I used a mixture of shredded monterey jack and sharp cheddar cheese. Finally, I just mixed all of the filling ingredients together rather than layering the meat and cheese and pouring the custard over it. Turned out great, the entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I LOVE this recipe. And I have made it several times. I have used different cheese blends and things to mix it up, but its great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phillip Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very good. Did use shredded raw potatoes (well drained) rather than frozen hash browns, and milk because I was out of cream. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
A huge hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Really good. Following someone's review, I did not use frozen hash browns, but used the 20 oz bag of Simply Potatoes hash browns from the dairy aisle. No worrying about squeezing out excess water. Also mixed some Penzey's Fox Point Seasoning in with the potatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Used sausage because that is what I had on hand and sauteed some onion with the sausage. Also used skim milk instead of cream & only 2 tbsp of butter. My husband usually hates breakfast bake type dishes & he raved about this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Excellent! All of my picky eaters gobbled this up. It makes a great breakfast or dinner meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Pretty blah tasting, what with no salt, pepper, or anything added??? I did saute fresh mushrooms and onions and then added the chopped up leftover honey ham. Used 2 real eggs and 2 eggs worth of Egg Beaters and about 1/2 cup of 2% mixed mexican cheese. I thought just 2 eggs for all those hashbrowns would have been not enough. I used skim milk instead of the cream also. Next time I would really salt and pepper the hashbrowns before the first bake and also add a bit to the egg mixture before pouring over the ham. Like I said, the idea of the recipe is great, just needs a lot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States