Ham and Cheese Breakfast Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by renstone
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I thought this was really good and a great base to add whatever you like to it. I added red and yellow bell peppers and red onions to it because I needed to use them up and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renstone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
everyone loved it, great way to use up that leftover ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
GREAT with a few tweaks!! I used 12oz of hash browns because 24oz was WAY too much. I will also cut down the butter a little next time - a bit too greasy. I added a bit of precooked onion on top of the ham. I used a heaping cup of ham and cheese both. If you like a lot of cheese, then I would use more than that even - I will next time. I used 3/4 cup of whipping and 3 eggs. I personally would cut the hash browns to 10oz, but my boyfriend liked it the way it was with 12oz. I stuck the with the original cooking times and while the edges of the crust were very brown, the body of the crust wasn't very crunchy - but I like it that way. LOVED the recipe though and will definitely make it again, plus, it's so versatile you could make it many different ways! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I used cubed ham and onion. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Didn't go over. Won"t make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I made this exactly how it was written except I used about 1/4 cup of finely chopped onion and made my own hash browns by baking and shredding the potatoes. While tasty, I think it would be vastly improved with some changes. First of all, there's way too much butter in the crust. A few tablespoons would work just as well without being so greasy. Also, the times are off. I baked my crust for 20 mins instead of 25 and the edges we nicely browned. When I added the remaining ingredients and threw it back in the oven, the crust nearly burned and I only put it back in for like 23 mins (not the full 30). Definitely use more eggs than called for. Next time, I think I will use four. This is a good recipe as it is but would be a great recipe with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartley, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was my first time making this recipe. (1) 24 ounces is too much, otherwise the title of the recipe should be "potato quiche." 10 ounces is enough potato for it to adequately cover the bottom of a 9'' pie pan while still leaving room for the remaining ingredients. (2) I followed the times provided, but it cooked faster than I anticipated. I wanted the top of my quiche to be lighter than a dark golden brown. (3) The directions omitted any addition of spices or salt, but I added 1/4 tsp of salt. Verdict: It was creamy, cheesy, and good quiche. Next time, I would like to cook the potatos longer to get a crispier crust perhaps add cilantro or green onions to jazz it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZestforFood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Made this for Christmas morning. I premade the crust and then added everything else in the morning. I did add about 3/4 cup of cooked, chopped bacon. It added a nice touch. Everything turned out beautiful! My son who doesn't like cheese even loved it! Will definetely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I made this recipe for supper with some changes. I didn't have hash browns so I cut up a pkg of curly fries. I reduced the butter and baked the fries for 25 minutes. I cooked it in a 9X12 pan and used 6 eggs with 1 cup of table cream, also added chopped green onions and doubled the cheese (cheddar). Baked for 20 minutes. This was a hit with my family and I will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
It tastes good, so no problem there. However, I'm giving it 3 stars because the amounts in this recipe are way off. For example, I was using a 10-inch glass pie pan, and when I dumped the 24 oz. of potatoes in a bowl, I was like, there is no way that 24 oz. of potatoes will even fit in this pie pan. I used 10 oz. potatoes. Also, there is not quite enough custard to even come up to the top of the 10 oz. of potatoes. So for this recipe, I recommend using 10 oz. of potatoes, 3/4 c. whipping cream, 3 eggs, and maybe 1 1/4 c. grated cheese. This filled my 10-inch glass pie pan. If this is all you're eating for breakfast, you'd probably eat 1/3 or 1/2 the pie per person for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States