Ham and Cheese Breakfast Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I wish I knew what happened here. All the good recipies and mine went wrong. The cheese burnt. I didn't taste eggs. The only thing this tasted like was hahbrowns. I don't even want to try again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
I love this dish and have made it on several occasions. So far, I haven't received anything but compliments. I've come to use this recipe more as a guideline than a bible. My variations: I choose the Simply Potatoes Southwestern Style potatoes for added flavor and I always double (sometimes even triple) the eggs. Often, I will use a couple of 'real' eggs, then 2 - 4 servings of 'fake' eggs. I've also included a cup or so of broccoli florets and regularly use a cheese combo like cheddar jack. I like adding a tsp of dry mustard powder, too. Feel free to use half & half or milk--whatever your have on hand--it doesn't seem to influence the final results too drastically one way or the other in my experience. The leftovers are great for weekdays when you have less time, but need more protein than cereal offers. Have fun with this and enjoy your hearty breakfasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
I tried this for Christmas and it was great!! I used sausage and cheddar cheese instead. The second time I made it I used 4 eggs and 1% milk. The extra eggs made the dish more fluffy. You must try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
the concept is great but the recipe could use some help - 1. I used 7 cups of shredded potatoes mixed woith butter and put into 9x12 pan and baked at 425 for 25 minutes not at all brown so they got 10 more minutes. 2. used 4 eggs as suggested, used 1/2 & 1/2 and added green onion (1/2 c), mustard (1tsp), 2 oz pimentoes, 1/2 tsp hot pepper sauce and 2 tsp pork seasoning mix everyone liked it but it still needed more flavor - next time I will use sharp cheddar and fresh parmesan cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
Very good - although it didn't really feel like "quiche" to me...more like a breakfast casserole BUT IT WAS STILL GOOD! I used "MMorris73" advice: cooked in a 9x12 baking dish and upped the eggs to 4. Also, used half & Half instead of heavy whipping cream and added some minced green onion and red bell peppers for color and taste. Overall - a handsomly good meal that we all enjoyed! In this case - change is good!! Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
very good! I used a 9x12 baking dish instead and added 2 more eggs. I also used a "mexican" cheese mix and it turned out just fine. Next time I'll try it with milk, since I don't keep cream on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This was so easy! I took it to a church potluck and it was the first gone. I will definately make this again - and I am not a quiche lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I really like this recipe! The hash browns really make a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This is a very good recipe as is. Since I do not like frozen hashbrowns, I substituted parboiled grated potatoes, increased eggs to 5 and cream to 3/4 cup, and added a teaspoon of grey poupon mustard and minced green onions. These additions added a little more flavor to the egg mixture. Thanks for sharing, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I also used bacon instead of ham, 1 additional egg, a touch bit more cream. I also added a little leftover chopped spinich that I had and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States