Ham and Cheese Breakfast Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I've made this for years . It make for a more appealing and filling dish than a pastry crust to me . I've used bacon , ham , sausage ,onions,mushrooms, green pepper ,asparagus, any kind of cheese ( pepper jack , swiss , cheddar . smoked gouda ..Different combos of what's on hand.. it all works .If I don't have the cream I use milk and use another egg or two . I've used fresh spuds or dehydrated ... I have a preference for reds (skin on) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenacres, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I think this recipe is good however I think the potatoes need a bit of salt if you use thinly sliced smoked ham.The latter is not too salty. I usually eat my recipes with low salt content,so if using the smoked ham salt is needed, cubed ham is a lot saltier. Next time I will also add a bit of freshly ground pepper to the hash browns. Also, to boost flavor you can add a bit of chopped onion to the potatoes...it gives it an extra flavor! I also agree that the measurements are off. I had to add one egg. And I would say when baking it with the eggs watch carefully because if baking at 425F, you might not need the full 30 minutes you may need a lot less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Oh wow...Yummy...I used the new Jalapeno Spam...quick fried it and substituted it for the ham...I also used regular milk because I did not have heavy cream....Will be cooking this more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evonnecpa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
It takes a whole lot of chutzpah to make major changes in a recipe, & then give it only 3 stars! In recipes like this, I always use quality pre-cooked hash brown patties, which eliminates step #3, saving 25 minutes of cooking time & the need for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernMaster

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
super easy dish, but reading some reviews I seasoned my potatoes before filling and seasoned the custard as well. Also be sure to saute/brown the ham it adds a simple sweet note to the dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This recipe sounds so delicious but so unhealthy. So much fat in one meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
You've got to be kidding! Ham and cheese for breakfast! Ugh! Gag me with a spoon! Ham, cheese, eggs and heavy cream, hash browns! Mmmmmmm Healthy? NOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This recipe has to be wrong. It serves 4-6 people and only has 2 eggs in it! It sounds very good except for that. AND no salt and pepper. I think it needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Love this idea.. lol I can see me adding pineapple, and some kind of a tomato sauce on top of the hash browns and then the rest for an almost breakfast ham and pineapple pizza with out the bread base.. if I do this I will let you know how it turns out.. it's morning I must be hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is amazing! Great idea for mother's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States