Ham and Cheese Breakfast Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2000
THIS WAS EXCELLENT! EVERYBODY LOVED IT AND IT WAS SO EASY. I USED SIMPLY POTATO SHREDDED HASH BROWNS INSTEAD OF THE FROZEN ONES, WHICH ELIMINATED EXTRACTING THE WATER FROM THE FROZEN AND SPEEDED THINGS UP EVEN MORE. I ALSO SUBSTITUTED HALF & HALF FOR THE HEAVY CREAM. WHAT I LIKED MOST ABOUT THE RECIPE IS THERE ARE ENDLESS POSSIBILITIES TO PERSONALIZE IT TO YOUR TASTES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
You really need to get all of the excess moisture out of the hashbrowns first. I suggest squeezing them between papertowels. I also would recommend cooking the potato mixture longer, 10-15 minutes longer, because it's better crisper. Everyone loves this recipe and I've made it at least 5 times. Great brunch item!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
We really liked this recipe. I also added extra eggs-3 extra eggs. I think next time I will try it with cheddar cheese instead of the jack cheese. Also maybe try it with bacon or sausage instead of ham-one of my kids doesn't like ham. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
After reading reviews, I tried and was very surprised. I did not add more eggs, but did use skim milk(diet reasons), cheddar cheese, fresh parsley, and baked the crust alone for more than 30 minutes. My hubby who really will only tolerate dishes like this loved it and we ate the whole thing. My kids were not as enthusatic but don't let that stop you. Very tasty and a great change of pace from regular dinner fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This is the best egg dish I have ever made. I used milk instead of cream and bacon rather than the ham and two additional egg whites. I plan to add this to the "standard meals list" for the week. Thank you, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Symes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This is a very good recipe as is. Since I do not like frozen hashbrowns, I substituted parboiled grated potatoes, increased eggs to 5 and cream to 3/4 cup, and added a teaspoon of grey poupon mustard and minced green onions. These additions added a little more flavor to the egg mixture. Thanks for sharing, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
Great recipe. I made it for my husband and visiting in-laws and they gobbled it all up immediately. I used fresh grated potatoes instead of frozen, as well as ham lunchmeat instead of leftovers. Adding a little salt and pepper to the potatoes gave the dish a little more flavor. Also, I used four eggs instead of two - made it more fluffy (a definite for egg lovers!). Wonderful recipe. Thanks to the "chef" for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2001
I used less hash browns than the recipe called for because the pie plate I used seemed too small. The quiche turned out great anyway, and the kids asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
This was delicious!! I used one more egg and colby and montery jack cheese. I can't wait to make it for my boyfriend one morning. He'll love it. This is a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I really like this recipe! The hash browns really make a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States