Ham and Cheese Breakfast Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Made this for Christmas morning. I premade the crust and then added everything else in the morning. I did add about 3/4 cup of cooked, chopped bacon. It added a nice touch. Everything turned out beautiful! My son who doesn't like cheese even loved it! Will definetely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I made this recipe for supper with some changes. I didn't have hash browns so I cut up a pkg of curly fries. I reduced the butter and baked the fries for 25 minutes. I cooked it in a 9X12 pan and used 6 eggs with 1 cup of table cream, also added chopped green onions and doubled the cheese (cheddar). Baked for 20 minutes. This was a hit with my family and I will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
It tastes good, so no problem there. However, I'm giving it 3 stars because the amounts in this recipe are way off. For example, I was using a 10-inch glass pie pan, and when I dumped the 24 oz. of potatoes in a bowl, I was like, there is no way that 24 oz. of potatoes will even fit in this pie pan. I used 10 oz. potatoes. Also, there is not quite enough custard to even come up to the top of the 10 oz. of potatoes. So for this recipe, I recommend using 10 oz. of potatoes, 3/4 c. whipping cream, 3 eggs, and maybe 1 1/4 c. grated cheese. This filled my 10-inch glass pie pan. If this is all you're eating for breakfast, you'd probably eat 1/3 or 1/2 the pie per person for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was quite good...made for my boys to use up some whipping cream I had on hand from New Year's. I didn't have the hash browns so diced a few potatoes and cooked them a bit before assembling everything. I also used some turkey bacon and increased the eggs to 4 as 2 does not seem like much for this dish. Easy, one dish meal, great served with a salad or some veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Loved it! This really isn't a quiche in the since that it doesn't have a crust, but the casserole that this recipe creates is great to make with holiday leftovers; those potatoes you didn't use, and the leftover ham are easy to throw together for an after holiday breakfast. I shredded a potato and it worked just as good as packaged potatoes. Also I didn't have heavy whipping cream. I substituted with half-n-half and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Most excellent! I called it a 'breakfast skillet' and they loved it (call it 'quiche' they wouldn't have touched it lol) I used evaporated milk and added green onions...will definitely make again, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pipster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was delicious. I altered the recipe to make this for eight people on Christmas morning, and my family loved it. I thought it needed a little more flavor, maybe onion or even salt and pepper. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I've made this countless times and it is always a homerun! I followed another reviewers suggestion to use Simply Potatoes, but I used the Southwest Style Simply Potatoes which have more kick. YUM! When I couldn't find the Southwest Style in the store I made it with regular Simply Potatoes. It was okay but I'll never use regular again if Southwest Style can be found. Seriously YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My fiance said this was a nice change from the usual dinner. I used less hash browns and baked the casserole in a 9x9 Pyrex dish. I would recommend seasoning the potatoes and egg mixture to your liking. I used salt, pepper, onion and garlic powder, but next time I will add some other herbs to up the flavor. I used the cream but don't think it's necessary. Baking time aside, this was a nice quick dinner. We had ours with a side of fruit cocktail :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
good, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairborn, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States