Ham and Cheese Breakfast Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Loved it! This really isn't a quiche in the since that it doesn't have a crust, but the casserole that this recipe creates is great to make with holiday leftovers; those potatoes you didn't use, and the leftover ham are easy to throw together for an after holiday breakfast. I shredded a potato and it worked just as good as packaged potatoes. Also I didn't have heavy whipping cream. I substituted with half-n-half and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Most excellent! I called it a 'breakfast skillet' and they loved it (call it 'quiche' they wouldn't have touched it lol) I used evaporated milk and added green onions...will definitely make again, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pipster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was delicious. I altered the recipe to make this for eight people on Christmas morning, and my family loved it. I thought it needed a little more flavor, maybe onion or even salt and pepper. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I've made this countless times and it is always a homerun! I followed another reviewers suggestion to use Simply Potatoes, but I used the Southwest Style Simply Potatoes which have more kick. YUM! When I couldn't find the Southwest Style in the store I made it with regular Simply Potatoes. It was okay but I'll never use regular again if Southwest Style can be found. Seriously YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My fiance said this was a nice change from the usual dinner. I used less hash browns and baked the casserole in a 9x9 Pyrex dish. I would recommend seasoning the potatoes and egg mixture to your liking. I used salt, pepper, onion and garlic powder, but next time I will add some other herbs to up the flavor. I used the cream but don't think it's necessary. Baking time aside, this was a nice quick dinner. We had ours with a side of fruit cocktail :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
good, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairborn, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is an easy and delicious breakfast/brunch main course. I used 1 20 oz bag of hash browns from the refrig section of the grocery store, and used 1/4 C melted butter and also sprayed the potatos with my olive oil spray (just to cut down on the butter). You can obviously substitute any meat/cheese you like - I used canadian bacon and sharp cheddar cheese and fresh snipped chives. You may want to add some additional spices to the egg/milk mixture, whatever you like in your eggs. I will definitely put this on my B&B breakfast rotation, my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is a great base recipe on its own, but very adaptable to varied tastes and dietary restrictions. My version: I used Simply Potatoes shredded hash browns, no "squeezing" required. I mixed the potatoes with some melted butter, but also one egg to help hold it all together well. I also added some salt, pepper, and a bit of onion powder to them for some additional flavor. I baked the potato crust as directed. For my filling, I used some Boar's Head Rosemary and Sundried tomato ham - I have the deli just give me one thick, 1/4 to 1/3 inch slice that I diced up. I sauteed onions, green pepper, and garlic, and mixed the ham in to sautee for a couple of minutes. Separately I mixed the eggs and heavy cream. I also added in some chopped fresh parsley and rosemary, and a bit of salt and pepper. Finally, I used a mixture of shredded monterey jack and sharp cheddar cheese. Finally, I just mixed all of the filling ingredients together rather than layering the meat and cheese and pouring the custard over it. Turned out great, the entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I LOVE this recipe. And I have made it several times. I have used different cheese blends and things to mix it up, but its great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phillip Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very good. Did use shredded raw potatoes (well drained) rather than frozen hash browns, and milk because I was out of cream. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States