Ham and Cheese Breakfast Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Didn't go over. Won"t make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I made this exactly how it was written except I used about 1/4 cup of finely chopped onion and made my own hash browns by baking and shredding the potatoes. While tasty, I think it would be vastly improved with some changes. First of all, there's way too much butter in the crust. A few tablespoons would work just as well without being so greasy. Also, the times are off. I baked my crust for 20 mins instead of 25 and the edges we nicely browned. When I added the remaining ingredients and threw it back in the oven, the crust nearly burned and I only put it back in for like 23 mins (not the full 30). Definitely use more eggs than called for. Next time, I think I will use four. This is a good recipe as it is but would be a great recipe with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Ramey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartley, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was my first time making this recipe. (1) 24 ounces is too much, otherwise the title of the recipe should be "potato quiche." 10 ounces is enough potato for it to adequately cover the bottom of a 9'' pie pan while still leaving room for the remaining ingredients. (2) I followed the times provided, but it cooked faster than I anticipated. I wanted the top of my quiche to be lighter than a dark golden brown. (3) The directions omitted any addition of spices or salt, but I added 1/4 tsp of salt. Verdict: It was creamy, cheesy, and good quiche. Next time, I would like to cook the potatos longer to get a crispier crust perhaps add cilantro or green onions to jazz it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZestforFood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Made this for Christmas morning. I premade the crust and then added everything else in the morning. I did add about 3/4 cup of cooked, chopped bacon. It added a nice touch. Everything turned out beautiful! My son who doesn't like cheese even loved it! Will definetely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I made this recipe for supper with some changes. I didn't have hash browns so I cut up a pkg of curly fries. I reduced the butter and baked the fries for 25 minutes. I cooked it in a 9X12 pan and used 6 eggs with 1 cup of table cream, also added chopped green onions and doubled the cheese (cheddar). Baked for 20 minutes. This was a hit with my family and I will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
It tastes good, so no problem there. However, I'm giving it 3 stars because the amounts in this recipe are way off. For example, I was using a 10-inch glass pie pan, and when I dumped the 24 oz. of potatoes in a bowl, I was like, there is no way that 24 oz. of potatoes will even fit in this pie pan. I used 10 oz. potatoes. Also, there is not quite enough custard to even come up to the top of the 10 oz. of potatoes. So for this recipe, I recommend using 10 oz. of potatoes, 3/4 c. whipping cream, 3 eggs, and maybe 1 1/4 c. grated cheese. This filled my 10-inch glass pie pan. If this is all you're eating for breakfast, you'd probably eat 1/3 or 1/2 the pie per person for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was quite good...made for my boys to use up some whipping cream I had on hand from New Year's. I didn't have the hash browns so diced a few potatoes and cooked them a bit before assembling everything. I also used some turkey bacon and increased the eggs to 4 as 2 does not seem like much for this dish. Easy, one dish meal, great served with a salad or some veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Loved it! This really isn't a quiche in the since that it doesn't have a crust, but the casserole that this recipe creates is great to make with holiday leftovers; those potatoes you didn't use, and the leftover ham are easy to throw together for an after holiday breakfast. I shredded a potato and it worked just as good as packaged potatoes. Also I didn't have heavy whipping cream. I substituted with half-n-half and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Most excellent! I called it a 'breakfast skillet' and they loved it (call it 'quiche' they wouldn't have touched it lol) I used evaporated milk and added green onions...will definitely make again, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pipster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was delicious. I altered the recipe to make this for eight people on Christmas morning, and my family loved it. I thought it needed a little more flavor, maybe onion or even salt and pepper. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States