Ham and Cheese Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Super easy and yummy. I typically mess up a mac n cheese. Not sure what was different about this one. I added frozen mixed veggies to the pasta at the end of boiling to make it a better balanced meal. Also, not a big deal, but I used penne instead of bowties since that's what I had on hand. 2 year old loved it! p.s. I used non-fat milk...Suprisingly worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Very good! Liked the combo of cheeses with the ham. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I made this last night & my family gobbled it up & my boys had the leftovers for breakfast this morning. :) I didn't have bowties so I used the small seashell pasta.I'm not really sure how one "julienne's" ham so I just chopped mine into bite-sized pieces. I skipped all of the sauce making & instead, I used a can of undiluted cheese soup (I bet cheez-whiz would work, too, or melted velveeta). Added salt, pepper, garlic powder & stirred it all together, poured it into a baking pan, covered it with garlic bread crumbs & shredded cheddar.I was going to also add peas to it but I forgot so I just served them on the side. But this morning for breakfast, the boys stirred the leftover peas into the casserole, anyway. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
What a great, basic mac and cheese recipe. Very easy. We omitted the ham, used cheddar instead of colby, and added diced cauliflower and peas. I also sauteed some panko in butter to give it a crunchy topping. Very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Kids loved this!! I doubled this recipe because my 14 year old had a friend over and there were no left overs! I only had a cheddar cheese and jack cheese blend on hand, but it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauriann1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was delicious - I used Campanella shaped pasta which I really love the way it cooks up. I bought a 5 oz. piece of nice lean ham at the deli to dice. I topped the dish with fresh shaved parmesan which baked up lightly crusty and golden on top - my sweetheart loved this so it goes in with the "Keepers"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Yummy recipe! They only things I changed were instead of only Colby cheese I used a combination of Colby, sharp cheddar, and provolone cheese mixture. I also added some chopped onion in addition to the garlic. I served this on a bed of spinach along with some sauteed carrots and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tustin, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Great kids meal. Add a veg and you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Very good!! The colby cheese gives it a smoother taste than cheddar. In this way it was easy to have it as the main course and didn't feel like we were just eating mac and cheese. I used smoked ham. It combined perfectly with the cheese. Followed the recipe exactly and highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeoNurse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very good use for leftover baked ham! I made quite a few changes to fit our likes: more pasta, added peas and more liquid, used lowfat (not notfat cheese). I used a colby, cheddar. mozzerella mix as that is what I had on hand, and used 1/4 tsp. dry mustard instead of prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States