Ham and Cheese Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
The dish is pretty good. I added sweet peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
We all liked it. I made it exactly as the recipe stated except I used 4 cups rotini. The only complaint was my garlic mincer was missing so I crushed it myself and some people got chunks of garlic which is more than they like. I think garlic is a good addition but I'll maybe use less or mince it better next time. We all went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
very basic cheese sauce without a ton of flavor. i added broccoli and honestly this was my favorite part
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
A-MAZING! Left out the mustard just b/c I don't like it & used canadian bacon b/c it was on hand, but I can't imagine the dish being any better than it was. Creamy & delicious w/a little garlic kick...Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Added more pasta, ham and a can of small peas. Left out the parm and didn't bake. Not bad for Easter ham leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was just a little above OK. I wish I'd used cheddar cheese, Colby is too mild in a dish like this. I could not taste the mustard either and would double or triple it next time. Or use dried mustard in that amount. I think the amount of saltiness in this dish is greatly affected by the type of ham used. I used deli ham and omitted all the salt (from water and recipe) and it was a little under-salted to me. For no reason I can quite determine, this sauce was a little thicker than I wanted it to be when it came time to stir in the noodles; I would reduce the flour/butter roux to 3 and 3 next time to suit my own preferences. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
very tasty. didnt have bow tie so I sub with elbow macaroni. I used 12oz of elbow just like another reviewer suggested. other than that i followed the recipe exact and it came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Really good! I didn't change anything except for using ziti pasta instead of bowties. I did use a 16 oz. box, but it was delicious and made plenty of cheesy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was a huge hit and easy to freeze. I did add some frozen broccoli to it, used whatever cheese I had in the fridge instead of all Colby, omitted the mustard & doubled the pasta. I would suggest making a little more white sauce if freezing because it was a tad dry, but oh so good! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Tasty and easy. I used 12 oz noodles and baked it in a 9 x 13 so the top was crunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States