Ham and Broccoli Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
If I could I would give this 4 & 1/2 stars. I save 5 stars for super exceptional stuff. My husband loved this and I have to say it was quite good. First I used regular linguini pasta instead of whole wheat rotini. I used 1 (10 oz) container of Buitoni regular alfredo sauce and 1 (10 oz) container of Buitoni light alfredo sauce from the cold case at the grocery store. I have used the jarred varieties of alfredo sauce before and have never been satisfied with the taste of any of them so I thought I would try the more fresh version. I personally think that it was hands down much better than the jarred. I upped the milk to 3/4 cup intead of 1/2 and used 16 ozs of pasta. Then I used Kraft 2% Colby Jack Monterey but used 2 cups so it was a little cheesier. I found the recipe easy to follow and quick to put together. Definetely a keeper. In the future I will make it with shrimp or chicken as well as the ham. Thanks for sharing the recipe mrs. embee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
good, used less pasta and more milk as there was not quite enough alfredo just a little salt as the ham was the cola ham from Easter with the grapejuice on it! boys liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This recipe was great! I changed it though - I used 16 oz of Garden Rotini; I added 2 cups of Velveta to the Alfredo instead of the shredded cheese; I sauteed the ham in olive oil with half an onion chopped, 2 cloves of garlic and a 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning; I used a 12oz bag of microwave in the bag Broccoli. I also didn't bake it, I just threw all the cooked items in a pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen82383

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was a great way to get rid of leftover ham from Christmas, as well as some unused monterey jack cheese I had bought for cheese & crackers. My very picky boyfriend even liked it! This will definitely become a repeat dish at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Very good and easy. Great way to use leftover ham. I changed sauce choice to more suit our family taste and added basil and mint while browning the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkcurmudgeon

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Abilene, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I had some leftover ham in the freezer from Easter, so thought this sounded like an easy, comforting dish. I made my own cheese sauce with half chicken broth, half 2% milk, and some sharp cheese along with the Colby-Jack. This was surprisingly good, and fast. I will keep this one and maybe try leftover chicken next time. Thank you mrsembee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I usually save the left overs for my husband, but this was so yummy, I had to have them. :) Like someone else said, I also recommend using Bertolli alfredo sauce. I also used paramasean instead of colby-monterey jack, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessiey Siney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Don't use chicken instead of ham. I've made this twice; the ham adds salt that is needed. With chicken this was bland. With ham, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Very good recipe! This was super easy to make. I used fresh broccoli because I had it on hand. I used 3 cups of ham because I wanted to use it all up. The 15 oz jar of Alfredo was plenty, I filled the jar with the milk and shook it and poured it that way into the pan. (Alfredo sauce you seem to waste a lot it get's left over in the jar) Very Good we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conestoga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pequea, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
We really enjoyed the taste of this dish, I do think it was a little dry in the end and would probably add more alfredo or less pasta next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States