Ham and Brie Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Wow, wow, wow....this is one of the best sandwiches I have ever had! The combo of flavors is perfect. I used the apricot preserves as called for (except sugar free) and will add a bit more next time. Make sure to use your grill pan for the pretty grill marks. This would be a wonderful sandwich for a luncheon or company. I'm stuffed from eating it but already dreaming of the one I will make again tomorrow. Thanks sweet tea, your my hero for the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Good sandwich but prefer to use mango chutney (a tangy one) in place of apricot preserves. The apricot was too sweet for our tastes. I am sure other meats could replace the ham, e.g. turkey, chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I made this as a late Friday evening supper. I chose it simply due to the fact that it did not have a 1/4 - 1/2 cup of butter as the others did. It is awesome. Yummmm. I made a few modifications based upon what was already in fridge. Used orange marmalade and spicy brown mustard :>. Also sprinkled just a bit of garlic on one slice of bread...what's a recipe without garlic. Came out wonderful. Now my husband gives this 4 star as he felt the orange marmalade was a bit too sweet. But the recipe didn't call for orange marmalade! I tried to find the mango chutney at a local grocery store to no avail. I think next time I will just cut the amount of jam in half as it was really a nice complement to the brie. We also needed to zap in microwave for 30 secs...didn't get hot enough. This made perfect. Make sure your brie gets nice and hot and slightly runny. Makes perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry E.
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Served a group of 20 lunch today... most knew there was something different about these sandwiches ... everyone loved them... no one guessed sugar free apricot preserves which is so good with the Brie Cheese... I used French bread and grilled them in the Panini press. Big Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This was good but it was missing something..I think I'll try the spicy chutney suggestion...I also used thick ham slices and I really feel like deli ham would have been better. I will make again though, with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Sooo fabulous! The taste, texture, flavor = yumminess. I may cut back the mustard next time, but it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittylover25

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Love the brie on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This was an absolutely delicious sandwich! I never would have thought to pair the apricot preserves with the brie ham and mustard! This was a huge hit with the guests, and is often requested! As a varation, I have also used granary bread (5 grain bread etc) and it tasted just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael J. Wild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Made this for dinner last night. The Brie was a bit of a pain to work with but I did enjoy the experience of using olive oil to grill a sandwich instead of the usual butter. That worked out fine and although the sandwich was pretty good, very filling and a nice change of pace from the usual, I doubt I'll make this one again unless I can find some tips on how to work with Brie cheese that doesn't include getting it all over myself prior to getting it on a sandwich. If I do make this again, I will try the Mango Chutney suggestion because that sounds very tasty. Great sandwich, just a bit fussy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Delicious, made it a Panini sandwich with Italian rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States