Ham and Brie Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Good sandwich but prefer to use mango chutney (a tangy one) in place of apricot preserves. The apricot was too sweet for our tastes. I am sure other meats could replace the ham, e.g. turkey, chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This was an absolutely delicious sandwich! I never would have thought to pair the apricot preserves with the brie ham and mustard! This was a huge hit with the guests, and is often requested! As a varation, I have also used granary bread (5 grain bread etc) and it tasted just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael J. Wild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I haven't tried this yet, but one reviewer commented that Mango Chutney would be good. Try Mango Chutney, Black Forest ham, extra sharp white cheddar on sour dough. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Delicious!! I also add walnuts...yes I said walnuts, they add a wonderful crunch to the sandwich and they complement the Brie and the apricot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I made this as a late Friday evening supper. I chose it simply due to the fact that it did not have a 1/4 - 1/2 cup of butter as the others did. It is awesome. Yummmm. I made a few modifications based upon what was already in fridge. Used orange marmalade and spicy brown mustard :>. Also sprinkled just a bit of garlic on one slice of bread...what's a recipe without garlic. Came out wonderful. Now my husband gives this 4 star as he felt the orange marmalade was a bit too sweet. But the recipe didn't call for orange marmalade! I tried to find the mango chutney at a local grocery store to no avail. I think next time I will just cut the amount of jam in half as it was really a nice complement to the brie. We also needed to zap in microwave for 30 secs...didn't get hot enough. This made perfect. Make sure your brie gets nice and hot and slightly runny. Makes perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Wow, wow, wow....this is one of the best sandwiches I have ever had! The combo of flavors is perfect. I used the apricot preserves as called for (except sugar free) and will add a bit more next time. Make sure to use your grill pan for the pretty grill marks. This would be a wonderful sandwich for a luncheon or company. I'm stuffed from eating it but already dreaming of the one I will make again tomorrow. Thanks sweet tea, your my hero for the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I made this with double the amount of brie, so a 1/2 wedge per person... wasn't able to heat it up, but it was really good bread so it was still good, but I will make it again and grill it as I know it will be a MILLION times better... might try spiral ham too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Love the brie on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Delicious, made it a Panini sandwich with Italian rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Elizabeth Caron
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I changed it a little, and what I made would have been a 4 and not a 5, but since I "lightened" it, I am sure the original would have been a 5. Yum! I think using SF preserves made it too watery though. Won't do that next time. I also used light butter instead of oil, and didn't have a grill pan so a plain skillet had to do...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Elizabeth Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States