Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Yum! I loved this recipe, the sweetness gives it a surprise kick! I agree though with the previous reviews on cutting the brown sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryon Cottrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
We love this recipe so much I don't measure anymore and just cook to taste! The only thing we do differently is to saute the onions and ham in butter, then add the brown sugar & spices. Next we add a bit of chicken broth & the beans with liquid. Oh, & we use canned beans when we need to hurry & it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I forgot to read the reviews before I starting making this. Wished I had, because it is too sweet. One tbsp. would be enough. Used only 1/8 tsp. cayenne and it was plenty spicy. The flavor is similar to baked beans with all that brown sugar. I will keep searching for a creamy white bean side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Husband loved this soup. Only used half the brown sugar. Did not add the cayenne since he does not like hot things. I cooked all day in the crock pot on low (10 hours).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMS121

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I have made this twice and it always turns out delicious. I use 2 cans great northern beans instead of the dried beans..it is a wonderful way to use up leftover spiral sliced ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This is by far the BEST Ham and Bean recipe I have ever used. The flavors were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Absolutely love this recipe, but like others cut down the brown sugar and increased the cayenne and added tomatoes. It is really a great recipe and I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This recipe was so EASY to make!! The only thing I did differently was I added more onion and made this in my crockpot. It came out awesome!! Tasty!! My picky 3 yrs old even ate this. YES it is a little sweet but we didnt find it to be overly sweet and in fact liked that it was different. My Gramdma asked me for the recipe !! Thanks for a great recipe!! :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Godfrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Sweeter than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States