Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I love this recipe just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Have made this on quite a few occasions, has always been good, although tonight my family scarfed it up, not a drop left. I follow the recipe without really measuring ;)~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I really loved this dish. From looking at the recipe you would think it was simple and bland, but it actually came out very flavorful! We will definitely be having this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
We have been eating ham and beans since I was a kid but never made it like this. I love this recipe because it is simple. My husband likes it better than any other ham and beans he has tried. Something has to be pretty awesome to replace a family recipe and this one certainly did! The only change I made was reducing the amount of brown sugar used as stated in previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristyHH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wathena, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I wouldn't change anything about this recipe! This was very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trhjrh06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
If you don't have time to soak the beans overnight (or forget), you can bring the beans and water to a rapid boil then cover and let rest for about an hour. It helps to add a little bit of EVOO or bacon grease (:?) and a pinch of sugar. Just as good as soaking overnight. I also use Hot Sauce (Texas Pete) in place of the cayenne. Oh, and you don't need the brown sugar...at least not all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I used less brown sugar than the recipe called for after reading some of the other reviews. Turned out very good. This was my first time making and eating Ham and Beans. My husband liked it but he was not used to eating Ham and Beans that have sugar in it so I think he would have preferred it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was the ham and beans that I have been missing so much. My grandma and aunt both made it all the time when we came and visited, but now that they are gone, they took the recipe to their graves. This recipe almost tasted just like theirs. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimelyn Charlier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Added less brown sugar (1/4 cup) and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
like the other reviewers, I also cut the sugar to 1/4 cup. i used almost 1.5 lb of the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States