Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I used less brown sugar than the recipe called for after reading some of the other reviews. Turned out very good. This was my first time making and eating Ham and Beans. My husband liked it but he was not used to eating Ham and Beans that have sugar in it so I think he would have preferred it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was the ham and beans that I have been missing so much. My grandma and aunt both made it all the time when we came and visited, but now that they are gone, they took the recipe to their graves. This recipe almost tasted just like theirs. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimelyn Charlier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Added less brown sugar (1/4 cup) and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
like the other reviewers, I also cut the sugar to 1/4 cup. i used almost 1.5 lb of the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This is a really good base recipe! I'm not sure what people were talking about with it being too sweet/too spicy, but then again we all have different tastes. This tastes like what my Mom always makes out of the jar (only about 20 times better), and was SUPER cheap to make, especially considering I'm a poor just graduated college student who really can't afford too much. Only problem I had and isn't the recipes fault is that the dry beans I had were a bit old so the 8 hour soak + cooking them for -3- hours still left them a bit stale, but again, not the recipes fault. I know I personally added a bit more cayenne and some beef boullion to enhance the flavor a little bit, but again, this recipe is good for alterations for your tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I used pinto beans instead, added chili sauce, italian seasoning, and 2 bay leaves. I halved the sugar. It was very tasty over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Delicious! I have made this twice now and just love it. I use canned beans instead of dry, which really speeds it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Much too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bordertown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Yum! I loved this recipe, the sweetness gives it a surprise kick! I agree though with the previous reviews on cutting the brown sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
We love this recipe so much I don't measure anymore and just cook to taste! The only thing we do differently is to saute the onions and ham in butter, then add the brown sugar & spices. Next we add a bit of chicken broth & the beans with liquid. Oh, & we use canned beans when we need to hurry & it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States