Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
5 stars if sugar is cut way back - too sweet. Use less water too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Good Stuff! I cut the brown sugar in half and used half water, half chicken stock to cover beans when cooking. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
We loved it. Took some of the suggestions, added celery, less brown sugar and some other spices. Served over rice with a dollop of Daisy...Mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I do not love ham, but I made this tonight for the family with Christmas leftovers. It was really good. My hubby who loves ham and beans gave it two thumbs up. My 11 year old daughter, our pickiest eater, liked it and that is saying something! I cut sugar in 1/2, did 1/8th cayenne and had about 3X the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnoopageCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Update! I still make this using all the ingredients, but I just wanted to say this meal has become as traditional as the ham holidays! A few days after Easter or Christmas, everyone always comes back over for ham & beans because of this recipe! Everyone loves it. I pair it with jalapeno cornbread. I use all the ingredients but I use the leftover ham bone from the Christmas ham with meat still attached to it. Then I just throw everything in a crockpot and cook it on low 8-10 hours. It is amazing. The sugar & cayenne pepper really make this recipe special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I love this recipe just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Have made this on quite a few occasions, has always been good, although tonight my family scarfed it up, not a drop left. I follow the recipe without really measuring ;)~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I really loved this dish. From looking at the recipe you would think it was simple and bland, but it actually came out very flavorful! We will definitely be having this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
We have been eating ham and beans since I was a kid but never made it like this. I love this recipe because it is simple. My husband likes it better than any other ham and beans he has tried. Something has to be pretty awesome to replace a family recipe and this one certainly did! The only change I made was reducing the amount of brown sugar used as stated in previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristyHH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wathena, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I wouldn't change anything about this recipe! This was very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trhjrh06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States