Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I blindly followed the recipe, it being rated 4.5/5 with 200 reviews, which usually means you really can blindly follow the recipe and come out shiny. WAY too sweet, I should have read the reviews first. It's better than the 1 star I'm giving it, but I'm trying (fruitlessly) to make up for you other reviewers who give it 5 stars while changing it completely. STOP IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I would give this 5 stars after the changes. I made these today with leftover ham bone and ham from Christmas dinner that I had in the freezer. I just used a regular cooking pot rather than a crockpot, so did not soak them overnight. I just bring them to a full boil, then reduce heat to medium low and simmer till tender. I have to agree with other reviewers that the sugar needs cut down by at least half for my taste, but some people like sweet beans. I am not a big fan of ham, only have it once a year usually, so my suggestion is to cook the beans with meat from "country style" ribs. Just make sure you remove all bones. I love this meat in my beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
5 stars if sugar is cut way back - too sweet. Use less water too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Good Stuff! I cut the brown sugar in half and used half water, half chicken stock to cover beans when cooking. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
We loved it. Took some of the suggestions, added celery, less brown sugar and some other spices. Served over rice with a dollop of Daisy...Mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I do not love ham, but I made this tonight for the family with Christmas leftovers. It was really good. My hubby who loves ham and beans gave it two thumbs up. My 11 year old daughter, our pickiest eater, liked it and that is saying something! I cut sugar in 1/2, did 1/8th cayenne and had about 3X the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnoopageCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Update! I still make this using all the ingredients, but I just wanted to say this meal has become as traditional as the ham holidays! A few days after Easter or Christmas, everyone always comes back over for ham & beans because of this recipe! Everyone loves it. I pair it with jalapeno cornbread. I use all the ingredients but I use the leftover ham bone from the Christmas ham with meat still attached to it. Then I just throw everything in a crockpot and cook it on low 8-10 hours. It is amazing. The sugar & cayenne pepper really make this recipe special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I love this recipe just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Have made this on quite a few occasions, has always been good, although tonight my family scarfed it up, not a drop left. I follow the recipe without really measuring ;)~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I really loved this dish. From looking at the recipe you would think it was simple and bland, but it actually came out very flavorful! We will definitely be having this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States