Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Tastes wierd due to italian seaoning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
wow! so glad I found this recipe for my Memorial Day cookout. I at first just started cooking the beans with a hammock but thought there had to be a better way to make them taste good. Never thought to put brown sugar when making beans before. They were so good and a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFANYDAYS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
My family always enjoys this bean recipe. The only (minor) gripe I have about it is that with the prescribed brown sugar, I think it's a bit on the sweet side. I usually put slightly less. Overall, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
wonderful followed as written! Don't try to substitute ham hocks for ham, though. A nice ham bone works great in place of just leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Expected this to come out a bit on the boring side, but my husband and I were both pleasantly surprised with the end results! I modified it using canned beans. I cut the sugar in half as recommended in many other reviews and I think it was just right; the full amount of sugar would have been far too sweet. Also used red onion and added celery and garlic. After sauteing the veggies I simmered the entire dish in some corned beef stock I had frozen after St Patty's dinner until reduced to my liking. This was a wonderful blend of sweet, salty and heat from the cayenne. Thanks so much for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I took the advice of several other reviewers and reduced the brown sugar by half. I also pan fried the ham with onions for a few minutes before adding it to the beans. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
First you must know my children are VERY picky on the food they eat. This recipe is totally awesome. One bite and both children wanted more. I followed the directions exactly and there were no left overs. I will double the recipe next time so there are left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
my fiance is a corn fed country guy with a son that is just like him. very picky.. they loved this.. they were like my grandma doesnt do this, or doesnt make it like this. I'm not sure if its going to tast right. FOOLED them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tyna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pattonsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States