Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Oh my this recipe is the BEST!!! Used our leftover spiral ham from Xmas and made it exactly like the recipe. Wouldn't change a thing! It is spot on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made a quick version of this recipe. I bought 4 cans of Northern beans. I only used 2 tablespoons of brown sugar(that made it sweet enough). I also added 1/2 a cup of chicken stock and turned this dish into a stew. Let it simmer for a bit and it's ready. I loved the sweet and spicy taste of this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Thanks much! I love the brown sugar, nice touch. I only added a qtr cup but I love it! My wife made me add some potatoes and celery. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
TOTALLY disappointed!! It was brown, mushy and tasteless. Really visually unapealling. I cooked it less than the suggested time and the beans were dissolved. Reduced the sugar to 1 TBS & it was still too sweet & cut the pepper to a dash which could account for the lack of taste but; not making chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Have this cooking in my crock pot now. I followed the other reviewer's advice. I also didn't have great northern beans and substituted black eyed peas. I reduced the brown sugar to 1/3 a cup, used two packets of ham boullion, a packet of "Emeril's Seasoning," a bit of italian seasoning, and kept everything else the same. I did saute the ham and onion in about 2 tbsp of butter prior to adding to the pre-soaked beans in my crock pot. (More flavor) It smells good so far. I keep tasting the liquid and adding a bit of salt as needed. (The beans really absord bit.) I also added 1/2 tsp of baking soda to aid as a "de-gasser."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is the BEST!!!!! YUM! I never really liked ham and beans because it was so bland. This is not the case with this recipe. I only change two things. I use a 1/4 cup brown sugar and I throw in about 3-4 pieces of raw bacon during step two. just adds a little more flavor. I also let mine simmer anywhere from 2-5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
The best Ham and Beans I have every had. Sweet with a little kick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Spencerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Tastes wierd due to italian seaoning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
wow! so glad I found this recipe for my Memorial Day cookout. I at first just started cooking the beans with a hammock but thought there had to be a better way to make them taste good. Never thought to put brown sugar when making beans before. They were so good and a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFANYDAYS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States