Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
To much sugar try 1/3 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George w.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
It was perfect. I did add some rose mary and a little extra cayenne pepper. Made corn bread and what a wonderful meal. Made 2 pounds of beans with left over ham. Gave me gas everytime I ate it but hey that was a plus! LOL I got the bed to myself!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I used way less brown sugar (about 1/4th cup) because we weren't looking for southern-style baked beans. I did add a few carrots (julienned) for colour for an added nutritional boost. Also used Tony's Cajun and Creole Seasoning...it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonlight58

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
absolutely great, except a little too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I suggest you add the brown sugar a tablespoon at a time to make sure it's not too sweet or overpowering for your taste. Two tablespoons were plenty for our taste. I like a few vegetables in mine so I did add some diced carrots and celery, Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Of my favorite foods to eat. One time I forgot the brown sug completely but it still turned out ok. I definitely recommend the sugar though. I always just used canned beans and it turns out just fine. The only thing I would recommend (if you're going the canned bean route since you don't have to cook it as long) is to sautee the onions separately before you add them or they will be too firm/flavorless which throws off the texture of the dish and made it unpleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I was not a fan of the brown sugar flavor...but my husband loved it! He had me change the beans to lima beans...which I do not like either, but he does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Enjoyed this one. I used 6 cans of Great Northern beans rinsed. Used Chicken Broth instead of water and added a dash or two of liquid smoke. Also made the Waikiki Cornbread listed on this site as well. Tastes great together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
pretty sweet going to try half the amount of brown sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
These are good but I agree with others they are just a little too sweet as written. I will make them again but cut the brown sugar down to half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States