Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Cut back on the brown sugar like most have recommended. Other than that this recipe is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zshock

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winchester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was the best ham and beans recipe I have ever made! I took the lazy route and used 5 cans of Bush's Northern Beans instead of soaking beans overnight... I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar as suggested by others and added a bit more ham than suggested, but followed recipe otherwise. I let the ingredients simmer for an hour... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
used only 1/4 c brown sugar and cooked in slow cooker for 5 hours...also browned ham and onions together before adding and just a dash of cayenne pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight and my husband raved over it. He said he would eat it for dinner once a week! I used 3 cans of Great Northern instead of the dry beans and only 1/4 c brown sugar. I simmered for an hour and served with cornbread. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
My husband said these were better than his mammas beans! Wow! I made this in the crockpot left out the cayenne pepper and just threw the ham in uncooked also a little bit of chopped up bacon just because I had some I needed to use. This was really really good and I am normally not a fan of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
The recipe definitely is too sweet for my taste so I'm giving it 4 stars. I made it using only 1/4 cup and it still tasted really sweet. Other than that, the recipe is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Excellent recipe! We love homemade cornbread crumbled up in beans and cabbage on the side...makes for an excellent easy meal. I didn't have ham, so I substituted bacon, based on previous reviews added a pinch of baking soda and a few stalks of celery. A definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield Springs, New York, USA
Living In: Great Bend, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Very Good! I like the change of pace with the added sweetness of the brown sugar. I did cut the brown sugar to 1/4 cup but otherwise kept to the recipe. Excellent when served over rice and with cornbread as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lloyd Blackmon
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I've never made ham and beans, so I was very happy when this surpassed my grandmother's flavor! I made it exactly as directed, except I doubled the recipe when I realized I had a 2-pound bag of beans. I wouldn't change a thing about it! The cayenne pepper balanced out the brown sugar, and I didn't think it was too sweet at all. I served it with cornbread. I will make this again and again. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by menasheep
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
These are fantastic! I'm from Arkansas and never made ham and beans before. I love finding good simple recipes that don't need embellishment and this is one of them. I used 1/3 cup brown sugar after reading reviews. I'll try it with just 1/4 cup next time. And I took a suggestion and added 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda to get rid of the gassiness. Next time, I'll also cook them uncovered. I had too much water left when they were done, but I drained it off and they were still fantastic. I served this dish with mustard greens, cornbread and black-eyed peas. This is a wonderful southern staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States