Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Absolutely LOVED this recipe! I even had people tell me it was better than their mothers and now they have their mother use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Great Recipe! My husband loves this! I've had to make it every weekend since I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I had way too many dried beans so I made this for a family get together. Everyone said they were the best. It was very yummy. The second time I added bacon for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very Very yummy..... here's what I did.. just changed it up a little bit. I used a 40 oz jar of beans, chopped three stalks of celery, a cup of chopped carrots, bay leaf and reduced the brown sugar to 1/3c. I used a smoked ham and cooked on low for about 2hrs. It was sooo good!! Also kept the Cayanne pepper and didn't seem too spicy, my husband is kind of sensitive to spice and he said he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
We ate lots of ham and beans when I was a child and so I've avoided it for several decades. My fiance mentioned he liked this dish, so I set out to find a recipe. I must admit it tasted great. The hint of sweetness makes a massive difference. I'll be making (and eating) this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I might have messed this up. I put the bean seasoning in with this in the slow cooker and it turned out way way too salty. Next time I will leave the bean seasoning out and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My dh wants me to make this every week now! THese are wonderful! I took the suggestion and cut down the brown sugar to 1/4cup. I also use about 1/2t. of the cayenne, but we like a kick. I have made this almost a dozen times and it has turned out fabulous each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Really good. I did cut down on the brown sugar and added more ham. Very good - not the best beans & ham I ever had, but still very, very delicious. Gonna make again. ***UPDATE*** I have made this multiple times. The last time, with pinto beans, which I thought were even better. I make a smaller batch - 2 cups of dry beans, 2 Tbs brown sugar, about 1/4-1/2 Tbs red pepper flakes, dry onion flakes, PLENTY of salt and peppr, and dice up ham and add baking soda. I do brown my ham in the pan before adding the beans. This is a good recipe for those who prefer beans not made with grease as flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I absolutely love the cayenne pepper add to this Ham and Bean recipe. Blends well with the other ingredients to create that "I must have more of those beans" attitude;) I now only make this recipe when in the mood for northern beans;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rainer Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Followed recipe except used 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of 1/2 cup like reviews suggested and added 1/2 cup diced carrots I had on hand. First time making ham & bean soup and only ever had the canned version so I was semi nervous about the taste comparison. My beans weren't tender after soaking overnight and I've never used dry beans so I did simmer them for an hour In water before adding everything (I assume I didn't soak them In enough water possibly). Simmered everything for 1 1/2 hours till tender. Turned out amazing! Don't think I'll ever eat canned ham & bean soup again. 5 stars for taste and easy to follow directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat&mouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States