Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Excellent!! I didn't use as much brown sugar and I still thought it was a little too sweet. But overall it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is not country ham and beans, more like pork and beans from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was good. I did not put in all the sugar, just about 1 Tbsp and that seemed about right. I didn't put in the full amount of cayenne, but it was still too spicy for me, though not my husband. Next time will just allow everyone to add their own spice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I thought this was great! I must admit, I'm don't use precise measures, so I dashed in the chili powder for enough of a bite & just threw in the brown sugar until it looked/smelled right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMB4Him

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bourbon, Missouri, USA
Living In: Steelville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Very good recipe. I followed other reviews and went with less sugar. I will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this! Substituted canned white kidneys (rinsed and drained) for the dry and only used 1 TBSP of brown sugar...it was still plenty sweet. Only needed to cook for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Absolutely awesome recipe! I love how the Cayenne pepper brings out the sweetness in the beans! I suggest making a double batch otherwise there probably wont be any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superwoman8977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I thought this recipe was really good. My husband and I get a pig each year and with all the good cuts of meat come a bunch of pork hocks we never know what to do with. I boiled some frozen hocks first and then cubed the meat and simmered that with canned Northern beans for 1.5 hrs. I used slightly more cayenne than called for as we prefer things spicy and used 1/4-1/3 cup brown sugar as others suggested. Very good, would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Very, very Yummy! I made this 2 days in a row and still no leftovers..my family devoured this fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This was way too sweet for my family. I think though, this recipe has potential as a great side dish for BBQ as a substitute for traditional baked beans. I think cutting back the ham or substituting with bacon to make it more of a side dish would make it really good. I will try it out and post it if it works out. This time, I sauted the onions and ham in 2tbsp butter before adding the rest of the ingredients to the dutch oven . I used 1/2 tsp garlic salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper, and 1/2 tsp sea salt for the season to taste part. And it still could not cut the sweetness. I did cut the cayenne to 1/8tsp because my hubby doesn't like spicy at all. The black pepper was too much for him. I cooked it extra long to make them extra creamy. Just read the baking soda trick. Will try that next time to cut down on cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deesselisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States