Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
Prepares well in the crock pot also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
This dish turned out really great. My whole family liked it, especially my husband. I made it in the crockpot, and it took about 5 minutes to throw everything together, then I just let it cook on low all day. I served it over white rice with fresh bread from the bread machine. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
This is the best recipe I've tried for ham and beans. There's just a hint of sweetness from the brown sugar. My husband and 11 month old son loved them. I'll definately make them again. Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
I thought this was a great version of Ham and Beans. The last hour of cooking the beans I added the onion and ham with them. I think it gave it great flavor. The cream of Mushroom soup and Cheese made it sooooo good! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
We loved this recipe! I found a recipe for spoon bread that is supposed to be "Thomas Jefferson's recipe" and served this soup over the spoon bread--reminded us of our vacation to Gatlinburg, TN! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I found this recipe to be very good, I have been looking for ideas on how to improve plain ham and beans and came across this recipe and tried it and loved it, I will continue to make it this way from now on. I did substitue a 40 ounce jar of northern beans for the pound of dry beans, and next time I make it I might reduce the amount of brown sugar just slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I used canned northern beans and decreased the amount of brown sugar. I added extra ham because this was a main dish. I served it with corn muffins and my family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This is the WORST ham and bean soup, myself and my family have tried. It was very bland tasting, and the brown sugar gave it a very odd taste. Maybe if a ham bone had simmered with the beans it may of helped.Ehat a waste of ingredients. I wouldn't recommend anyone trying this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I made this for a birhtday Party which was near St Pattys day. With the cornbeef cabbage, cornbread. I cooked 4 lbs of beans everyone loved them. There was none left at end of night!! I didnt have any cayenne pepper which I usually always have. I cant wait to make them next time adding that. I followed other suggestions and didnt put as much brown sugar as the recipe calls for. Anyway Good Beans!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Great recipe for a cold day, or a rainy night. My family gobbled this up and then promptly fell asleep rubbing their belly's. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMINIQUE24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States