Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Enjoyed this one. I used 6 cans of Great Northern beans rinsed. Used Chicken Broth instead of water and added a dash or two of liquid smoke. Also made the Waikiki Cornbread listed on this site as well. Tastes great together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
pretty sweet going to try half the amount of brown sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
These are good but I agree with others they are just a little too sweet as written. I will make them again but cut the brown sugar down to half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Excellent...provided the brown sugar is cut in half or less ! As the majority of reviewers of this recipe have stated...1/2 cup brown sugar is just too much (unless major sweetness is what you seek) - I cut the brown sugar to a scant 1/4 cup...and honestly could have gone less. Thank you fellow reviewers...for if I had not read your reviews, I would have ruined a perfectly good leftover Christmas ham !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
The flavor was really good but I cooked the beans and ham on low in the slow cooker for 8 hours after soaking overnight and they're still hard and crunchy. Not crazy about the texture. I may try again but follow the true directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Oh my this recipe is the BEST!!! Used our leftover spiral ham from Xmas and made it exactly like the recipe. Wouldn't change a thing! It is spot on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made a quick version of this recipe. I bought 4 cans of Northern beans. I only used 2 tablespoons of brown sugar(that made it sweet enough). I also added 1/2 a cup of chicken stock and turned this dish into a stew. Let it simmer for a bit and it's ready. I loved the sweet and spicy taste of this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Thanks much! I love the brown sugar, nice touch. I only added a qtr cup but I love it! My wife made me add some potatoes and celery. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
TOTALLY disappointed!! It was brown, mushy and tasteless. Really visually unapealling. I cooked it less than the suggested time and the beans were dissolved. Reduced the sugar to 1 TBS & it was still too sweet & cut the pepper to a dash which could account for the lack of taste but; not making chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Have this cooking in my crock pot now. I followed the other reviewer's advice. I also didn't have great northern beans and substituted black eyed peas. I reduced the brown sugar to 1/3 a cup, used two packets of ham boullion, a packet of "Emeril's Seasoning," a bit of italian seasoning, and kept everything else the same. I did saute the ham and onion in about 2 tbsp of butter prior to adding to the pre-soaked beans in my crock pot. (More flavor) It smells good so far. I keep tasting the liquid and adding a bit of salt as needed. (The beans really absord bit.) I also added 1/2 tsp of baking soda to aid as a "de-gasser."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States