Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I was looking for a recipe for Northern beans and found this. As someone who didn't grow up eating ham and beans I was apprehensive but I've made this recipe three times now and it's very good! We love the subtle sweet flavor with just a hint of heat from the cayenne. I followed the recipe and served it with corn bread. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This is pretty much the same recipe my mom, Grandma and myself have been usinh for years minus the brown sugar and cayenne .....we had a ham hok in while the beans are cooking and add the chunks off ham toward the end oc the cooking process so the flavor doesn't cook out of the ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This is the best way to fix ham and beans. My son said they were the best I had ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Delicious recipe and easy to make. Even my 18 month old loved it. Plenty left to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Love this recipe, the brown sugar is key it changes the flavor drastically to amazing!! Brown Sugar & Cayenne they compliment each other beautifully!! YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This was very, very good. My Hubby just loved it. After reading the reviews I made a few changes. I sauteed some onions, 2 stalks of celery and 3 cloves of garlic. And I cut the brown sugar in half. I think I will add even less than that next time. It was still on the border of being to sweet. Overall though it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
To much sugar try 1/3 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George w.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
It was perfect. I did add some rose mary and a little extra cayenne pepper. Made corn bread and what a wonderful meal. Made 2 pounds of beans with left over ham. Gave me gas everytime I ate it but hey that was a plus! LOL I got the bed to myself!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I used way less brown sugar (about 1/4th cup) because we weren't looking for southern-style baked beans. I did add a few carrots (julienned) for colour for an added nutritional boost. Also used Tony's Cajun and Creole Seasoning...it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonlight58

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
absolutely great, except a little too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States