Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Read other reviews and also decided to cut down on brown sugar. 1/4 cup was still slightly sweet. Added about 1 1/2 tsp kosher salt and 2 garlic cloves. Also, added a big handful of kale from my garden. I chopped it up so it looked like parsley, so no one knew they were eating kale! Served this with cornbread…all crumbled up in it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
good base recipe, but I couldn't resist making some changes. as all reviews said, cut back on the brown sugar. but i used canned cannellini beans, rinsed and drained. added asparagus tips and half a poblano pepper chopped, about 15 minutes before it was done cooking, and spinach about 10 minutes later. came out good. i cooked uncovered until almost all of the water was absorbed/evaporated, then i began adding the veggies. came out nice. i basically used what i had on hand, and it was a nice meal out of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
They are great....I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Way better the 2nd day. I made this recipe as given using 1 tsp salt, and served it with cornbread. I used hickory smoked, sweet glazed ham, and I do think the type of ham you use affects the outcome. The 1st meal was OK, but seemed bland. It was so much better the 2nd time that I thought my taste buds must have been off for the first meal. My husband confirmed the leftovers were far tastier. So, if you can, put the cooked meal in the fridge at least overnight so the flavors can meld to create a truly superb dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mshcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dripping Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have made this recipe several times for family and friends. They seem to love it and ask me to make it again. As I do all recipes I make my own little twist to them. This one I do cook in the crock pot! It tends to be a little creamier! The recipe calls for just 1/2lb of cooked ham I use about 1lb. along with a bone or ham hock, I also use 1 1/2 lb. beans! I am fixing this morning along with some sweet cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
So easy & family loves them, even my toddlers. I half the cayenne pepper so not too spicy for our little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
We absolutely loved this. I followed other tips added the baking soda and cut back on the brown sugar. This went really good with honey cornbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Monroe, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This was really good but a bit too spicy. I will make again minus the 1/4 cayenne pepper. Maybe half of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Husband loved these. Took advice of others & reduced sugar mainly b/c the ham/ham bone I threw in there were cooked as a honey ham. I put too much water in & tried to reduce, still ended up being a little more runny than I was hoping for, but that was my fault. Awesome recipe will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I love, love, love this recipe! I am actually making this right now for at least the fifth or sixth time. I, like many others, use much less brown sugar, maybe 2 tablespoons. I also add 2 cups of fordhook lima beans and 2 tablespoons of butter. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EM357304

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States