Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Just made this tonight and it was delicious! My mom was supposed to make her ham and beans for dinner tonight but she was sick so we stayed home...but I was still craving it! I did the quick soak method for the beans (rinse, boil for 2 mins, cover and take off heat. Let sit for 1 hour, rinse and begin normal recipe). It turned out wonderfully. I did the 1T brown sugar and 1/8 teaspoon cayenne plus 1/2t of baking soda. My husband and I practically inhaled it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Creech

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Great recipe. However, I did make a few minor changes. I added 2 jalapeños in place of the cayenne pepper, one leek in place of the onion and I added a whole ham hock and laid it on top of the beans while cooking. Once cooking was complete, I diced the ham hock into bite sized pieces. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luther Ham Jr.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
way too much brown sugar..plus adding celery is a great addition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Johannsson

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This is so good. Only way I will ever make ham and beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made this in the crock pot following the recipe just as it was. It was great, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I thought this recipe was perfect. I substituted green onion in place of small onion however. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra Kortbein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Hubby and me loved these beans. They were delicious with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Fine recipe. It is versatile, but simple too. I used Lima beans, and added a bit of sliced carrot. Delicious results. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Our family loved this recipe. Our family enjoyed it very much. I detest all the reviews where people go on and on as to how they changed the recipe to make it 5 stars. Ladies, if you don't like the sound of a recipe and change it to YOUR recipe, you have no business reviewing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States