Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This is a really good base recipe! I'm not sure what people were talking about with it being too sweet/too spicy, but then again we all have different tastes. This tastes like what my Mom always makes out of the jar (only about 20 times better), and was SUPER cheap to make, especially considering I'm a poor just graduated college student who really can't afford too much. Only problem I had and isn't the recipes fault is that the dry beans I had were a bit old so the 8 hour soak + cooking them for -3- hours still left them a bit stale, but again, not the recipes fault. I know I personally added a bit more cayenne and some beef boullion to enhance the flavor a little bit, but again, this recipe is good for alterations for your tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I used pinto beans instead, added chili sauce, italian seasoning, and 2 bay leaves. I halved the sugar. It was very tasty over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Delicious! I have made this twice now and just love it. I use canned beans instead of dry, which really speeds it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Much too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bordertown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Yum! I loved this recipe, the sweetness gives it a surprise kick! I agree though with the previous reviews on cutting the brown sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryon Cottrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
We love this recipe so much I don't measure anymore and just cook to taste! The only thing we do differently is to saute the onions and ham in butter, then add the brown sugar & spices. Next we add a bit of chicken broth & the beans with liquid. Oh, & we use canned beans when we need to hurry & it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I forgot to read the reviews before I starting making this. Wished I had, because it is too sweet. One tbsp. would be enough. Used only 1/8 tsp. cayenne and it was plenty spicy. The flavor is similar to baked beans with all that brown sugar. I will keep searching for a creamy white bean side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Husband loved this soup. Only used half the brown sugar. Did not add the cayenne since he does not like hot things. I cooked all day in the crock pot on low (10 hours).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMS121

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I have made this twice and it always turns out delicious. I use 2 cans great northern beans instead of the dried beans..it is a wonderful way to use up leftover spiral sliced ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This is by far the BEST Ham and Bean recipe I have ever used. The flavors were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States