Ham and Beans and More Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is a keeper. I cooked it on the stove. I added 12 baby carrots, added 1/2 tsp. turmeric, used 1/2 small ham chopped. I also used 8oz. pinto and 8oz. great northern beans. they was yummy. I found a new recipe. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This recipe is wonderful!! Followed recipe as written (I added 2 more slices of bacon than called for) and it was super delicious. My husband and I finished off the entire crock pot of soup in just 2 days!! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anshirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I've always struggled with getting the right rich taste from ham & beans without a flavor packet. This was SPOT ON! I had already started the recipe with beans, ham and water realizing that maybe it was too late to do anything but salt it and move on. But when I found this recipe, I simply added the garlic, chopped onion, olive oil, chopped celery and cumin and WOW! Never knew it could be this easy and good! Will DEFINITELY do this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Ball

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellsville, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I don't mash the beans and am making it in a few days with some leftover baked ham. We shall see.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Excellent! Only thing I did different was to omit the bay leaves and I added a smoked turkey wing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I never thought I'd ever say I would enjoy eating Ham and Beans...but I love this recipe. I only made a couple simple changes. I used 1/2lb Great Northern Beans and 1/2lb black eye peas. Then, I used chicken Better Than Bouillion instead of water like someone else suggested. It was very tasty. My hubby enjoyed 3 bowls and my children enjoyed it with a dallop of sour cream. It will be our new New Year's dinner tradition paired up with fresh corn muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very good. No chicken broth, use ham brot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Awesome flavor. I used Knorrs stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Fantastic. A keeper I'll make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States