Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
OUTSTANDING! This is one of the best soups we've ever had, and we LOVE soup! I made just a few minor changes -- I added a 15 oz. can of black beans for color, and doubled the amount of ham. I used the leftovers from our smoked Easter ham, cubing most of it, but also ground up some of the ham for texture. I also doubled the vegetables. My husband's a hunter, so we have a LOT of venison polish sausage -- I used that instead of the bratwurst, cut into small cubes. My husband has made me swear this will ALWAYS be in our freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
You can't go wrong with this one, folks! Even if you tweek it to fit your personal taste, it is a wonderful soup recipe. Thanks, it's going into my "Keeper" file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebeckah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Great recipe! This turned out delicious, even without a ham bone! I followed this recipe with the exception of the canned chilies. I used 3 fresh jalapenos instead. The brats added a really good flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Francis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Great recipe...added corn, did not add green peppers. Used turkey bratwurst to make it lighter, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I have never made bean soup before I tried this. My husband has declared this recipe as the best soup he has ever eaten and told me to make sure I didn't misplace it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I loved this recipe. Really fun having all those different beans. I used kielbasa instead of the brat, and used turkey ham. I also added tyme and oregano and increased the tabasco. Freezes fine. Brought leftovers to lunch and received lots of comments about how great it smells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Followed the recipe except I used polish kielbasa instead of bratwurst. It took a long time to make it, but it was definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Fantastic and very hearty. Great winter supper served with bread sticks. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Very good soup,even the kids liked it and are asking for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I tasted this as I went along and it got better and better with each new thing that I added. It was so good before the diced tomatoes that I never even added them. I'll save that for another time. I think you could easily use this as a base recipe and just keep altering it for a variety of flavors as the mood strikes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States