Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Perfect recipe because I didn't have time to soak the beans overnight. I used ham hocks for great flavored broth, 1 can of tomatoes and eliminated the spices with heat for a traditional tasting bean soup that wasn't mushy and looked appetizing. Will keep this as my standard preparation method for dried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
OUTSTANDING! This is one of the best soups we've ever had, and we LOVE soup! I made just a few minor changes -- I added a 15 oz. can of black beans for color, and doubled the amount of ham. I used the leftovers from our smoked Easter ham, cubing most of it, but also ground up some of the ham for texture. I also doubled the vegetables. My husband's a hunter, so we have a LOT of venison polish sausage -- I used that instead of the bratwurst, cut into small cubes. My husband has made me swear this will ALWAYS be in our freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I have never made bean soup before I tried this. My husband has declared this recipe as the best soup he has ever eaten and told me to make sure I didn't misplace it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Great recipe...added corn, did not add green peppers. Used turkey bratwurst to make it lighter, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Great recipe!! Instead of bratwurst I used kielbasa and it came out perfectly. This was my first time cooking with beans and the recipe was easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORAKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Great soup. Used dry lima beans in lieu of beans in the recipe. Also substituted 16 oz. jar of medium hot chunky salsa for tomatoes , added 2 cups of chicken broth, extra carrots (1 1/4 cups), 1 cup sweet onions, 1 cup of corn, 2 tsp. of cajun spice and 1 cup of blush wine. This will be added to my list of favorite soups. We thoroughly enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Killer soup! I doubled to ham and used Kielbasa instead of the brat. I used a bit more seasoning including celery powder (i didn't have any celery). A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
You can't go wrong with this one, folks! Even if you tweek it to fit your personal taste, it is a wonderful soup recipe. Thanks, it's going into my "Keeper" file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebeckah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this in the crock pot. I put my beans that had soaked over night into the crock and added everything, including the diced tomatoes with green chilies and a nice ham bone I had. I did add a couple jalapeños from the garden and more of the onion and vegetables. I didn't put in any bratwurst, I had plenty of leftover ham from Christmas. This smelled so good cooking all day, I gave it a stir once in awhile. Makes a huge amount, so will have leftovers tomorrow too. A wonderful New Years Day meal. And so easy in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I loved this recipe. Really fun having all those different beans. I used kielbasa instead of the brat, and used turkey ham. I also added tyme and oregano and increased the tabasco. Freezes fine. Brought leftovers to lunch and received lots of comments about how great it smells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States