Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Excellent soup. I modified it by only adding 1 can of diced tomatoes and adding several minced cloves of garlic. It was delicious served over some steamed brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This soup was delicious. The bratwurst added such a nice flavor. I told my picky eater "there's so many things in this soup you're sure to find something you like" and it worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Delicious! I will add a little potato next time though for some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobbycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was a great soup. I changed the recipe a bit to suit our tastes and what i had on hand. I substituted chopped cabbage for the green peppers and since I had 2 cans of diced tomatoes with jalapenos I used them and left out the chopped green chiles and the hot sauce. I also changed the cooking steps a bit so the vegetables wouldn't get mushy and the meat lose its flavor. After the cooked beans were rinsed and drained I cooked them for an hour with the onion, garlic, herbs and spices. The next hour I added the carrots, celery, and cabbage (instead of green pepper) During the last hour I added the bratwurst and ham, canned tomatoes and a can of corn (didn't mention that before.) It was great. I made some white rice on the side so it could be added to an already thick and hearty soup. I know I will this one make again. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Great recipe! I didn't have the sausage, but made it without it and it was still very good. Can't wait to try it again with the sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was "totally excellent" as my husband put it. I had cooked a ham the day before so didn't use bratwurst as I had plenty of ham, but will definitely try that next time. I used Rotel instead of diced tomatoes and green chiles - didn't have diced tomatoes on hand. I also added 1 jalapeno pepper seeded and 1/2 tsp oregano and left out the hot pepper sauce. I made this with a jalapeno cheese corn bread and we just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burden, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Delicious! I modified it just a little, based on our tastes and pantry: kielbasa instead of bratwurst, added 3 new potatoes 1 hr before completion and a bit of crushed red pepper flakes because we don't have Tabasco. I thought that there wouldn't be enough seasoning based on the number of ingredients, but it has really nice flavor and a nice kick to it! Definitely a keeper and will probably become one of our favorites. Next time I'm going to try it in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
A very good recipe, the whole family liked it, even the non-soup lover (wife).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I'm giving this 4 starts because I think when I halved the recipe I didn't use half the beans. My soup turned out rather... well, BEANY. Regardless, I still would use twice the veggies called for even at normal quantities, and I didn't care for the consistency of the meats after they simmered in the soup for 3 & 1/2 hours. I will try this again, I'm confident that it's good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Yesterday I would have given this soup four stars. I made it in a rush and didn't let it cook long enough. Today I heated up the leftovers and had the MOST delicious soup EVER! It was thicker and much more flavorful than the day before. The only change I made in ingredients was to add corn. It was not spicy like the recipe might suggest but has a pleasant ham taste. This will be added to my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaH.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States