Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
My wife loved this soup, and thats saying something, since I've tried other ham-bean soup recipes on her and met with ho-hum reviews. Here's how I did it: after soaking the beans overnight, threw them and a leftover ham bone with meat remains in the crockpot and cooked on high for 4 hours. Then in went the other ingredients, save for the tomatoes and chilies. Those I added when the veggies were nearly soft. Used fresh tomatoes and chilies, and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This soup is WONDERFUL! I served it with corn muffins, and it was a BIG hit for my family. Thank You for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Great recipe! I had red beans on hand and used them. Robust flavor - wonderful served with fresh sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Silver Bay, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Colfax, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very good soup and boy does it make a lot! I was out of carrots and sub kielbasa for the brat. I thought it needed a little more seasoning at the end and some more hot sauce, but this is an overall good bean soup recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is the best ham and bean soup recipe I have found. Definately a keeper. The family loved the flavors! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This soup is absolutely delicious. I soaked the bean overnight. I also omitted the Marjoram because I didn't have any and never used it before. I also added a 1/4 teaspoon of cumin and 1 cup of spicy V8 juice. You can add the chiles and tomatoes in the beginning too. The longer it cooks, the better. Absolutely delicious...my kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is a very good recipe. I did leave out the bratwurst and the green pepper because I disklike both of those things. Instead of Worcestershirt sauce I used Pickapeppa sauce. Also, after removing the ham bone and meat I used my immersion blender to smoosh up the beans and vegetables. Then I cut up the meat and added bite sized pieces back in. It was quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Phenomenal recipe. You really need to try this! The only thing we did differently was we tossed in the ham hock from our Christmas ham. So much great flavor. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Killer soup! I doubled to ham and used Kielbasa instead of the brat. I used a bit more seasoning including celery powder (i didn't have any celery). A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Such a wonderful soup! Best ham and bean soup I have ever made, and will be making it again for sure! I used chicken broth for 1/2 of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States