Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Excellent. I changed it up a bit to what was on hand. I didnt have dried beans. i use 5 cans of different beans. Family and teenage friends like it very much and the teenagers werent been eaters. Very simple and tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This is a very nice soup. I didn't add the green pepper. Everything else I did the as listed. I'll play around with the herbs and spices to make it perfect for me, but this recipe is a great place to start from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I made a couple minor changes based on what I had on hand...still came out great. 1)I didn't have diced tomatoes on hand/used tomato sauce 2) I only had hot sausage on hand so I used that and left out the chilies and hot sauce. PS: this makes a LOT. I only made a half batch and still we had plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe. I have made this a few times and it always comes out great. I use Nothern beans since mixed beans are hard to find in my area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CForest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverbank, California, USA
Living In: Ceres, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
My husband and I both loved this soup. And my husband is not a "soup-kind-of-guy," so when he kept eating it the next two days (because the recipe made so much), I was surprised yet excited that it turned out so well. But, for a man, how can you go wrong with ham, sausage, and beans! It seemed spicy, but good. I didn't add the green pepper or celery simply because I didn't have any and didn't want to go to the store. But I did add broccoli and carrots and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haylee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This recipe was excellent. Enjoying some right now. :) I didn't have a can of chillies, so I used two cans of Rotel instead of the regular diced tomatoes. Spices were perfect. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was a good ham and bean soup but I don't think I will be making it again. I followed the recipe to a T, but just didn't love it. It's missing the smoky flavor of a traditional ham/bean soup. I also thought it was *really* spicy and I didn't even add the hot sauce,just the can of jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheeky
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Well, this was my first time using dried beans, and we LOVED the result. I was happy not to soak overnight. I don't like when people change recipes all around, but I had to make a few changes based on what was on hand. First, my package of dried beans was only a 1 lb. "16 bean variety" (from the 99 Cent Store!). Because I'm not a huge fan of smokey flavor, I bought two 6 oz. premium ham steaks (also less fat) for the meat, and didn't use any bratwurst. Because I didn't have any green pepper (and I love it), I used a package of Kroger "Great Beginnings" which had red and green pepper and onion. Had to substitute oregano for the marjoram - very similar taste anyway. For the tomatoes I used one can of Ro-Tel and one can of Fire Roasted Tomatoes Salsa Style, and didn't need to add the chiles. It was plenty spicey enough! This soup was thick and perfect for the one of only a few rainy, cool Phoenix nights that we get. Thanks for the delicious idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I am not a bean soup lover, my wife is. After making this recipe, I am a bean soup lover. This is not only one of the BEST bean soups I've ever had, it is one of the best soups ever. I used a Honeybaked ham bone and skipped the Brat's (imagine that in Wisconsin!). I went on the light side with the hot sauce. I like vegetable a bit hard in soup, this recipe definetly is better right after it's made. After freezing the leftovers, the veggies and beans were a bit mushy. Still I rate it a 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Incredible. I've made other things from this site and never bothered to rate them. This was soooo good I had to chime in. I didn't have brauwurst so I used 1/2 a package of smoked sausage. Also thru the ham bone in while it cooked and the leftover ham slices I had. It was even better two days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brecksville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States