Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Awesome soup!!!! YUmmy!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This was far and away the best ham & bean soup ever! I did however make a few changes along the way. Instead of boiling the beans I allowed mine a long over night soak and also added two ham hocks which were de-skinned and browned in a skillet. I used about a pound and a half of ham stakes cubed and also browned in a skillet. Went a little heavy on the onion, garlic, celery and carrots but did'nt use any green pepper or green chilies simply because I was lazy and did'nt want to make a trip to town. Also added bay leaves and put the tomatos in at the beginning, they cooked way down and became part of the broth. After a quick boil I lowered the head and let simmer uncovered for about 3-4 hrs. This soup is loaded with deep savory flavor. Makes me want to grab a bag from the freezer just thinking about it. TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fremont, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Hearty soup. Cooked it for my husband and I and had plenty of leftovers. Froze it for a couple weeks and had it the other day... still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Great recipe! I doubled the raw veggies and spices. I also had a ham bone available. The flavor is awesome and the bean prep is so easy. Make sure to simmer after the tomatoes and chilis are added. It really evens out the Tomato taste. My wife also loved the soup before the Tom and Chilis were added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mackay, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Excellent! My whole family loved it. Used turkey kielbasa and red sweet bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Wow this was a great recipe and easy to make. Even my picky eater liked it and it freezes well. I used Chorizo sausage instead to add some nice low heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arubagal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I also really liked it before adding the tomatoes and chilies...may do that next time. I didn't have brats so I just used more ham and a ham bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Great soup! Much better than the bland ham & bean everyone ususally serves, it has a nice zip to it! I made my own ham stock because my mother made ham for Christmas and was going to throw away the bone. My local store didn't have any decent brats so I used Kielbasa like some other reviewers and I grilled them beforehand. My husband can't do anything too spicy so I didn't use hot pepper sauce and I used the canned tomatoes with the chilies added, they aren't as spicy. Really yummy on a cold day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very Good! My family enjoyed this very much. Definately will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkshortcake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States