Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Used 2 cups of beans, dried from Costco, no sausage, one can of tomatoes. Everything else the same, no hot sauce, but 1/2 tsp chili powder. Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was a great recipe!! I cooked a ham bone in the slow cooker overnight and then used the broth and meat from that as my base instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
My hubbie isn't a big soup lover, but I was hoping this recipe would convert him. I used cajun smoked sausage to give it some zing, and he loved it!! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This soup is delicious! I had a ham hock to use up so I cooked the hock and used the broth as the base for the soup instead of water. I used kielbasa instead of bratwurst since it's what I had, but followed the rest of the recipe exactly as it's written. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was very very good! Excellent flavor, and it was SOUP... not a thick bean mush that I usually wind up with when trying to make bean soup. I think next time I will leave out the bratwurst and put in a little more ham. Not a bratwurst fan. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I gave it 5 stars because I think the recipe would have been great if I didn't mess with it. I followed it exactly in the beginning (first two hours of cooking) and the broth tasted wonderful while it was cooking. But my hubby likes potatoes so I added several diced reds during the last 45 minutes of cooking. It somehow sucked ALL the seasoning out of the broth and it was totally bland. So . . . lesson learned - don't mess with a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Excellent! Couple things different, I had part of a Honey Baked Ham left over from the holidays, so I cut the rest of the meat off the bone and boiled the bone & what was left on it, in the water with the veggies for like 20 mins. Then removed it and added everything else. Because I was making this so last minute to use the left over ham I had to use 4 different kinds of canned beans which I put in last. Next time I will plan the multiple bean soup mix. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittfoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this in the crock pot. I put my beans that had soaked over night into the crock and added everything, including the diced tomatoes with green chilies and a nice ham bone I had. I did add a couple jalapeños from the garden and more of the onion and vegetables. I didn't put in any bratwurst, I had plenty of leftover ham from Christmas. This smelled so good cooking all day, I gave it a stir once in awhile. Makes a huge amount, so will have leftovers tomorrow too. A wonderful New Years Day meal. And so easy in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
no tobasco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
We had it w/o the brats and it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States