Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Used 2 cups of beans, dried from Costco, no sausage, one can of tomatoes. Everything else the same, no hot sauce, but 1/2 tsp chili powder. Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was a great recipe!! I cooked a ham bone in the slow cooker overnight and then used the broth and meat from that as my base instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
My hubbie isn't a big soup lover, but I was hoping this recipe would convert him. I used cajun smoked sausage to give it some zing, and he loved it!! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This soup is delicious! I had a ham hock to use up so I cooked the hock and used the broth as the base for the soup instead of water. I used kielbasa instead of bratwurst since it's what I had, but followed the rest of the recipe exactly as it's written. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was very very good! Excellent flavor, and it was SOUP... not a thick bean mush that I usually wind up with when trying to make bean soup. I think next time I will leave out the bratwurst and put in a little more ham. Not a bratwurst fan. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I gave it 5 stars because I think the recipe would have been great if I didn't mess with it. I followed it exactly in the beginning (first two hours of cooking) and the broth tasted wonderful while it was cooking. But my hubby likes potatoes so I added several diced reds during the last 45 minutes of cooking. It somehow sucked ALL the seasoning out of the broth and it was totally bland. So . . . lesson learned - don't mess with a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjsboutique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Excellent! Couple things different, I had part of a Honey Baked Ham left over from the holidays, so I cut the rest of the meat off the bone and boiled the bone & what was left on it, in the water with the veggies for like 20 mins. Then removed it and added everything else. Because I was making this so last minute to use the left over ham I had to use 4 different kinds of canned beans which I put in last. Next time I will plan the multiple bean soup mix. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittfoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this in the crock pot. I put my beans that had soaked over night into the crock and added everything, including the diced tomatoes with green chilies and a nice ham bone I had. I did add a couple jalapeños from the garden and more of the onion and vegetables. I didn't put in any bratwurst, I had plenty of leftover ham from Christmas. This smelled so good cooking all day, I gave it a stir once in awhile. Makes a huge amount, so will have leftovers tomorrow too. A wonderful New Years Day meal. And so easy in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
no tobasco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
We had it w/o the brats and it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States