Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
Made this soup yesterday, and it tasted incredible. I did not find it in the least bland...I did however use the bag of 15 bean soup mix I had purchased instead of the navy beans, but not the seasoning it came with. I simply shook in a prodigious amount of the spices called for, plus a pinch of salt. A delicious soup, great with cornbread muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Middleburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2000
Absolutely the best tasting soup. We couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
WOW! Now that's what I like. An easy very helpful recipe with lots of variations available. Thank you Chef and Allrecipes!! I added Veg broth and chey pepper, lots of extra veggies and pintos!! Yummi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef-Boy-r-Flint

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Conowingo, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Fantastic! I used pinto beans and tried someones suggestion of adding cayenne pepper and brown sugar. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Great way to use leftover ham. My only change: substituted 2 cans vegetable broth (low salt)for some of the water and doubled up the vegetables. Even the teenagers ate this. Cooked on simmer all day - thickened nicely. Froze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Delicious recipe, I changed a couple of things. I used pinto beans instead its what I had and I added 1 tsp. brown sugar and 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper, it was hit in my family. I have made this a couple times already, it remains our favorite ham and bean soup. I did add chicken stock for some of the liquid. So goood!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Valley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Very good. I made an 18 qt. roaster full for a function and got several compliments. I did add some ham base for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I loved this soup. It was SUper easy. I did double the amount of seasoning and added a couple of extra carrots. I also cooked it in the crockpot for about 6 hours. It was perfect for a chilly day and even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This came out awesome although I felt it needed something so I added chicken bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is an easy and very tasty recipie. I used 3 quarts of water instead of 4 in my 5 quart stock pot, and the results were very good. I increased the veggie amounts by 1/3 and added 3 potatoes cubed. I will use this recipe after every ham I bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States