Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This recipe is amazing. The soup came out perfect and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
As other reviewers noted, I also replaced most of the water with chicken broth. I also added two cans of navy beans as I thought it was thin and needed more and didn't have time to wait to soak more beans. I ran one can through the food processor and just added the other can as is. I added more carrots and celery and instead of slicing them as I did the other veggies, I chopped them in the food processor. After adding more spices including some bacon salt, I ended up with a great soup. Really good and a huge batch of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
As others suggested, I replaced most of the water with broth for extra flavor. Added additional spices, was bland with the spices called for in the recipe. I soaked my beans for 10 hours, and I had to simmer them for about 45 minutes before they were soft enough to add the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Im not a big fan. It was far to bland and i was way liberal with the spice. Having said this i do prefer my food spicy so to each there own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Dogg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Excellent gluten free dairy free meal that feeds a lot! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I also had to change a couple of small things but my 9 year old loved it and it freezes great. This was a very tasty filling soup. Great for cold nights served with warm fresh bread. yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janathome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
mmmmmmm. I didn't think it was gonna turn out that good, but to my suprise, it was DELICOUS! I used part chicken broth for the water, and only used 3 qts of water, and kept adding water till the beans were soft. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
i think this might be the best soup I've ever made .. and I've made quite a few soups. I simmered my ham bone for a couple hours in the water with half an onion and a couple bay leaves, peppercorns too. I also added some rosemary. Absolutely delicious .. you will not be dissapointed with this one. Even my eleven year old daughter who is not a soup fan ate a whole bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
VERY EASY! VERY HEARTY! VERY YUMMY! I always make split pea soup with left over ham but this time I tried this navy bean soup recipe. Well, this is my new go-to recipe. No more split pea, this is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made this and used my co-workers as guinea pigs. It disappeared! Absolutely fantastic. I did soak the beans longer than overnight - about 16 hours - and it was perfect! 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States