Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Linda Fogo
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this soup and it turned out great. Followed the recipe exactly and added a few ingredients of my own. I put in crushed fresh garlic with the vegetables and added two bay leaves. I run a small kitchen and it was the soup of the day. People loved it. Will become a regular item on my menu. Thanks!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Fogo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Venice, Florida, USA
Living In: Nokomis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this recipe with some changes: using 2 cans navy beans. 1 whole with juice and one rinsed, drained, and lighty mashed. Chicken broth instead of water, and no celery. I sauted the onions and carrots and added everything else, cooked for one hour, removed bone and added the meat back to the pot. Stirred and served. It was good for a quick throw together meal but it was lacking something. I added about 1 tsp of garlic powder too and it was still lacking. Maybe a jalapeno would help? The soup was def better the next day after sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I've made this soup several times. It's the best way to use up leftover ham. There is nothing about this soup that I can ever complain about. It's simple to make, and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This recipe is absolutely delicious! My family normally doesn't care for beans that much, but when I made this they couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This recipe was ok, but I did find it to be slightly bland so I ended up adding more seasonings to it as well as using beef broth for some of the liquid. I only had pinto and kidney beans on hand so used those instead. Overall though a fairly good recipe and one I would probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I hated ham and beans growing up because my mom made it so thick. I'm still not a huge fan of the smell, but if I can get past that, this recipe makes a pretty tasty soup that my husband loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Super great recipe! I had no problem at all with the flavor being bland. I bought a big ham hock to use and the flavor was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
this is an OLD family recipe. We've always used Heinz chili sauce on top or cider vinegar cooked into it. Cooked bacon also rounds out the flavor. I know the vinegar sounds weird but try it a capful at a time til you find the flavor you like. Promise you won't ruin it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Ham and Bean soup is my FAVORITE. It reminds me of home! My mom always adds a bit of brown sugar, maybe half a cup or so, and it makes it that much more amazing. This recipe is just like my mom's, which is why I liked it so much. TRY THE BROWN SUGAR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I used canned 2 cans of Navy beans and 1 can of Northern beans, but besides that didn't add anything else. Cooked in a slow cooker all day and turned out very, very good! Pretty easy to make. This one will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrBadCookWhoLikes2Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States