Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Added some ham in with the veggies and herbs, awesome! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
EXCELLENT~~~and just as good after being frozen and reheated (maybe even better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ed Denmat
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
So good! I had a few recipes in mind but since about a hundred degrees below zero outside tonight I decided to pull my frozen Christmas dinner ham bone out of the freezer. I used Cantellini but otherwise stuck to original. Soup heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Denmat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I've made this soup a couple of times and normally when I do make it it's in the crock pot. I use presoaked navy beans then rinse them and place in the pot with enough water to cover about 1" above. I cut up fresh carrots and add. I use V-8 juice to taste and add Better then Bouillon Ham base. I also have found that a ham hock with meat on it tastes better then plan sliced up ham. When it's about 2 hours from done you can shred meat from bone and placing meat back into soup and leave the bone out. I add sliced up potatoes half way through cook time. Best thing about this soup is everything is to taste no need for being perfect,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Have been making this soup for years. Here are my changes. I use more veggies and use the quick cook recipe for the beans. I don't cook the beans when I'm boiling the ham bone. I wait until after the ham bone is picked of ham and I strain the water. I then return the broth to the pot with the beans and then cook the beans seperately. I also add a bay leaf and some ketchup at the end. It seems to add more flavor that some people are complaining about. It was my mom-in-laws suggestion. Other than that, my favorite bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I had never made ham soup and wanted a basic idea of how to do this. I read the reviews for more ideas and it WAS AWESOME! It should really be an new recipe I suppose. I added Cayenne, 15 Bean Soup mix beans (but not the flavor packet), 1/4 bag of small navy beans, and a little Chicken bullion because I had too much water and it was watery. Also added 2 Yukon Gold Potatoes... Everything else I followed and it took about 90 minutes to boil the ham and get the beans soft. Thanks for the great start to my own special soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Love this soup! I followed the recipe with the exception of the garlic powder, I use crushed garlic cloves, and no paprika, used a dash of Mrs. Dash extra spicy. The whole family enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This turned out great. I used real garlic and used 1 tsp butter in the stock pot to soften the onions and garlic then when almost clear, I added the celery. Oh, and I used chicken broth instead of the water. At the end, I used an immersion blender with about 2 cups of the soup to thicken it up and give a nice texture. My husband and I will eat this dish again and again...no more canned for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I added potatoes and I think it would have been better without them. Next time I will stick to the original recipe. It took way longer to make than I realized also, but it was my first time cooking with dry beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Yum! Nothing like coming home to a crockpot full of this wonderful soup! I used a bag of mixed beans and added some brown sugar like other reviewers. Otherwise followed the recipe as is. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hughesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States