Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Great recipe. I made a few changes -- used 2 quarts water, added 2 tsp salt, minced 2 garlic cloves instead of garlic powder, eliminated paprika, and bought a center cut ham slice since i didn't have ham bone. Best navy bean soup I've ever made. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Awesome recipe! I read the reviews and doubled the spices, used half chicken broth for the liquid and added some garlic salt. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
As written, thought was too watery and bland in flavor. Will use 3 quarts water next time, add some chicken bouillon cubes and one more carrot and celery stalk. Thinking this should thicken it up and make more flavorful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Added some ham in with the veggies and herbs, awesome! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
EXCELLENT~~~and just as good after being frozen and reheated (maybe even better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ed Denmat
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
So good! I had a few recipes in mind but since about a hundred degrees below zero outside tonight I decided to pull my frozen Christmas dinner ham bone out of the freezer. I used Cantellini but otherwise stuck to original. Soup heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Denmat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I've made this soup a couple of times and normally when I do make it it's in the crock pot. I use presoaked navy beans then rinse them and place in the pot with enough water to cover about 1" above. I cut up fresh carrots and add. I use V-8 juice to taste and add Better then Bouillon Ham base. I also have found that a ham hock with meat on it tastes better then plan sliced up ham. When it's about 2 hours from done you can shred meat from bone and placing meat back into soup and leave the bone out. I add sliced up potatoes half way through cook time. Best thing about this soup is everything is to taste no need for being perfect,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Have been making this soup for years. Here are my changes. I use more veggies and use the quick cook recipe for the beans. I don't cook the beans when I'm boiling the ham bone. I wait until after the ham bone is picked of ham and I strain the water. I then return the broth to the pot with the beans and then cook the beans seperately. I also add a bay leaf and some ketchup at the end. It seems to add more flavor that some people are complaining about. It was my mom-in-laws suggestion. Other than that, my favorite bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I had never made ham soup and wanted a basic idea of how to do this. I read the reviews for more ideas and it WAS AWESOME! It should really be an new recipe I suppose. I added Cayenne, 15 Bean Soup mix beans (but not the flavor packet), 1/4 bag of small navy beans, and a little Chicken bullion because I had too much water and it was watery. Also added 2 Yukon Gold Potatoes... Everything else I followed and it took about 90 minutes to boil the ham and get the beans soft. Thanks for the great start to my own special soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States